Switch Theme:

Ranges and Wound Pools (I really hate that term...)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight




Philly

I'd like to make sure I understand this correctly: Unit fires at enemy unit with a mix of weapons with range bands between 18"-30". So long as the 18" weapons had a target in range at the start of your shooting, they can kill enemy squad members outside of their actual range, because the 30" weapons extend their kill radius. Is this correct?

I know there are FAQs that seem to address this, but they seem poorly worded (which considering its GW, I guess I shouldn't be surprised.) Can anyone provide a clear definitive answer?

Drones and a Battlesuit commander (drones: 18", Commander: 30") fire at some ork boyz. Only 1 boy is within 18", the rest within 30". Can the spill over from the drones kill more then one guy?

If this was posted recently, sue me. I checked, didn't see any. Please don't PM me saying I'm stupid for asking, that was uncalled for.

I apologize in advance if this starts some big ruckus, I'm just unclear on the rule.

"It's bigger then all of us. Winston's in the air duct with a badger." 
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






Step 1: All weapons that are in range of at least one model get to fire.

Step 2: All enemy models that are in range of at least one weapon are a valid target.

Step 3: Roll to hit/wound/save with those shooters and targets.

So in your example, yes, shots from any model in the unit can inflict wounds against anything within 30".

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in ca
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller






So long as the 18" weapons are in range when you roll to hit then just keep doing the shooting as normal. The 30" weapons do effectively extend the kill range of the 18" weapons.
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight




Philly

Thanks so much for the responses. Glad I was right.

"It's bigger then all of us. Winston's in the air duct with a badger." 
   
Made in it
Storming Storm Guardian




Similar situation that happened yesterday.

My opponent (IG) shots with his Leman Russ Demolisher. He placed the large blast template (range 24") over an assault marine. The blast was also covering one of my allied Eldar Jetbike. As the declared target of the blast and the shooting is assault squad, he procedes to shoot 1 lascannon (48") on the assault marines.

The Jetbike Guardian was about 25" away from the tank. Should he take a wound and try a jink save?

English is not my mothertongue, sorry for grammar errors

3500
700 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Blast weapons have explicit permission to wound out of range.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight




Philly

 Happyjew wrote:
Blast weapons have explicit permission to wound out of range.


Precisly. But that's a good example, I think.

"It's bigger then all of us. Winston's in the air duct with a badger." 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: