Switch Theme:

New BRB FAQ Swarms and ID Templates  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine




Nocturne

From the new FAQ:

Q: If a base of models with the Swarms special rule suffers a Wound
from a Blast, Large Blast or Template weapon that would cause it to
suffer Instant Death, does the fact that Wound is doubled to two
Wounds mean that two bases should be removed instead of one?
(p43)
A: No

So what happens to the second wound? Do you not double wounds that cause instant death? Do you double them but end up ignoring half? I don't understand how this is supposed to work now. The answer to the questions directly contradicts the wording of the rule itself, and offers no explanation as to why. Help me understand Dakka!

Sun Tzu "All warfare is based on deception"

Into the Fires of Battle! Unto The Anvil of War!

2500 pts
1500 pts
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge






The wound is doubled on the model it is allocated to.
So the IDed swarm base takes 2 ID wounds instead.
Essentially overkilling.

Like you could have 5 pens/glance on a 3 Hull point models.

40K:
5000+ points W/D/L: 10/0/6
4000+ points W/D/L: 7/0/4
1500+ points W/D/L: 16/1/4

Fantasy
4000+ points W/D/L: 1/1/2
2500+ points W/D/L: 0/0/3
Legends 2013 Doubles Tournament Champion  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





It means that the second wound is unnecessary since the base is ID' by the initial wound to begin with. In Short, it is lost or if you prefer, it is still applied to the same base and is ID a second time for good measure.
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine




Nocturne

40k-noob wrote:
It means that the second wound is unnecessary since the base is ID' by the initial wound to begin with. In Short, it is lost or if you prefer, it is still applied to the same base and is ID a second time for good measure.


Ahh, so we're beating a dead horse then

Sun Tzu "All warfare is based on deception"

Into the Fires of Battle! Unto The Anvil of War!

2500 pts
1500 pts
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





I'll accept apologies in my PM box.
(just kidding - I don't expect any and don't think less of people who disagreed vehemently with me)

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Bear this one in mind for the day someone manages to pull off Eternal Warrior on a swarm somehow.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Swarm of Psykers with access to Biomancy?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/23 14:55:10


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




rigeld2 wrote:
I'll accept apologies in my PM box.
(just kidding - I don't expect any and don't think less of people who disagreed vehemently with me)


This one shocked me, I really didn't believe they would rule it this way. but at least its settled now. now if only they would have clarified barrage and night fighting while they fixed LOS and blasts

 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

sirlynchmob wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
I'll accept apologies in my PM box.
(just kidding - I don't expect any and don't think less of people who disagreed vehemently with me)


This one shocked me, I really didn't believe they would rule it this way. but at least its settled now. now if only they would have clarified barrage and night fighting while they fixed LOS and blasts


Actually...they only partially fixed it. If the closest model in the target unit is out of sight, blast wounds can be allocated to them...what?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





I'd also like to point out this little gem:

"Q: If a model is ‘removed from play’ due to such effects as failing their Initiative test against ‘Jaws of the World Wolf’, does this count as being removed as a casualty? (p15)
A: Yes."


Oh the arguments this would have saved had it been printed years ago. Ah well, better late than never.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Well I'm glad it's cleared up. There was a post not to long ago that made me re-read the rules and changed my thinking on this kudos to that guy .

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/23 16:49:50


In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

Yet another win for RAI vs. RAW. As usual.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 NecronLord3 wrote:
Yet another win for RAI vs. RAW. As usual.

That was debateable before - Did GW intend to change this from the way it's been ruled in every edition it's ever come into play?
Obviously now the answer is yes. That doesn't mean that it was clear before, and pretending that it was is disingenuous.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




rigeld2 wrote:
 NecronLord3 wrote:
Yet another win for RAI vs. RAW. As usual.

That was debateable before - Did GW intend to change this from the way it's been ruled in every edition it's ever come into play?
Obviously now the answer is yes. That doesn't mean that it was clear before, and pretending that it was is disingenuous.

As usual is also laughable.

See SitW and Rhinos. See Farseer powers while embarked.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




@ Nos

I'm sorry I don't understand. Could you clarify please?
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Apparently he's claiming that because some FAQ's ignore both RaW and RaI (and pretty much come out of left field), the notion that FAQ's tend towards RaI is "laughable".
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Also that they flop back and forth - the SitW question flopped back and forth, for example.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






I don't know, it was pretty clear to me after scrutinizing the rule and pushing out the 5th edition holdover that they intended for this situation not to happen (situation being, Swarm+blast/template+ID=2 bases dead).

To me, it IS raw to not lose two swarms per wound to an ID blast/template.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/23 23:30:55


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Agreed, it is and was. A lot of people didn't want to accept that this had changed from previous editions, however.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




@Pyrian

Ah, I see I think.

BTW, what's SitW, and what are the posters referring to? I'm not sure what this means, and also what it does to a Rhino.

Thanks in advance.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Shadow in the Warp - it was FAQed to not affect Psykers in vehicles for a long time, and then last February it suddenly flopped back to affecting them. For no reason.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Pyrian wrote:
Apparently he's claiming that because some FAQ's ignore both RaW and RaI (and pretty much come out of left field), the notion that FAQ's tend towards RaI is "laughable".

No, the notion that "as usual" is true is laughable. I even "quoted" it, to make it clear
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Just to clarify, this FAQ means that no wounds are ever doubled until assigned to a model right?

So when a template that doesn't cause instant death inflicts 2 wounds on a 3 wound swarm base, 1 of the resulting unsaved wounds after doubling will be lost to the ether?

I mean I already felt that to be the case, but I'm wanting to gauge whether people feel this FAQ leaves no doubts about that.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, one of them must be lost - which is both the Rules as well as being what they intended the rule to be.
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




rigeld2 wrote:
Agreed, it is and was. A lot of people didn't want to accept that this had changed from previous editions, however.


Admit it though, even you thought when it finally got FAQ'd, it would remove double the bases again.

 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

sirlynchmob wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Agreed, it is and was. A lot of people didn't want to accept that this had changed from previous editions, however.


Admit it though, even you thought when it finally got FAQ'd, it would remove double the bases again.


Think that? No. but I had a feeling...

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





sirlynchmob wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Agreed, it is and was. A lot of people didn't want to accept that this had changed from previous editions, however.


Admit it though, even you thought when it finally got FAQ'd, it would remove double the bases again.

No, I'm pretty sure in every thread about it I said it could go either way and that I wouldn't be surprised in either instance.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: