| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/24 05:46:49
Subject: eldar psychis powers, quick question.
|
 |
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker
|
ok, just read the faq, and it says that a farseer can't use psychic powers while on a transport, question is, does this include using them on himself or the squad he has joined on the transport, or the transport itself?
example: eldrad joins squad of fire dragons with a waveserpent trasnport, can he guide the firedragons or the waveserpent?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/24 05:55:48
Subject: eldar psychis powers, quick question.
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
I think that the FAQ question/answer is clarifying the BRB. p67 says, "The Psyker must have line of sight to his target. This means that a Psyker embarked on a Transport can only target himself, his vehicle or another unit embarked on the same vehicle."
So the Eldar FAQ means that, even though Farseers don't need LoS to cast, they still cannot cast outside the transport. All Psykers, though, can cast on the transport or the embarked unit.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/24 06:14:00
Subject: eldar psychis powers, quick question.
|
 |
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker
|
ok, just getting into eldar myself and am learning the ropes.
so i can cast fortune and guide on a vehicle im embarked on??
mwwaaaaahahahahaha!!
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/24 09:07:36
Subject: eldar psychis powers, quick question.
|
 |
World-Weary Pathfinder
|
"Q: The Farseer Psychic Powers ......... Does this mean that they
can be used by an Eldar psyker embarked on a Transport? (p28)
A: No."
This is what troubles me, the RAW says they cannot use a Farseer Psychic Power while embarked at all, the wording is just crappy. Honestly RAI should be yes, they can still cast on their squad or the vehicle, just not to stuff outside.
It is worth mentioning that the FAQ has nothing to do with the Rulebook powers, whichever way you interpret it. Invisibility for 2+ coversave Wave Serpents is a blast!
|
Ulthwé Eldar 2.5k points and growing! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/24 09:18:02
Subject: eldar psychis powers, quick question.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Eldar Farseer powers CANNOT be used while embarked, as the FAQ clearly states
Crapy answer, likely not what they intended, however I will not assume that it is wrong as I cannot know this is the case
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/24 15:22:29
Subject: eldar psychis powers, quick question.
|
 |
Moustache-twirling Princeps
Gone-to-ground in the craters of Coventry
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:I think that the FAQ question/answer is clarifying the BRB. p67 says, "The Psyker must have line of sight to his target. This means that a Psyker embarked on a Transport can only target himself, his vehicle or another unit embarked on the same vehicle."
So the Eldar FAQ means that, even though Farseers don't need LoS to cast, they still cannot cast outside the transport. All Psykers, though, can cast on the transport or the embarked unit.
^ This
I'm ignoring the FAQ's wording refering to casting out of a transport, if casting on the passengers or vehicle.
The BRB says they can do that, and they shouldn't be nerfed by badly-worded 'fix'.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/24 15:28:03
Subject: eldar psychis powers, quick question.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Skinnereal wrote: Elric Greywolf wrote:I think that the FAQ question/answer is clarifying the BRB. p67 says, "The Psyker must have line of sight to his target. This means that a Psyker embarked on a Transport can only target himself, his vehicle or another unit embarked on the same vehicle."
So the Eldar FAQ means that, even though Farseers don't need LoS to cast, they still cannot cast outside the transport. All Psykers, though, can cast on the transport or the embarked unit.
^ This
I'm ignoring the FAQ's wording refering to casting out of a transport, if casting on the passengers or vehicle.
The BRB says they can do that, and they shouldn't be nerfed by badly-worded 'fix'.
Which, while is not what the FAQ says, is a perfectly viable house-rule (which I explain to my opponent whenever I play my Eldar).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/25 12:31:21
Subject: eldar psychis powers, quick question.
|
 |
Storming Storm Guardian
|
This came up sometime ago. I'll bring back my old idea, which is commonly accepted by my gaming group. My idea is that a psyker embarked can cast only on his unit or the vehicle he is in.
Does the fact that Eldar pskykers do not need LOS to cast powers allow them to cast while embarked?
No. [faq]
Does the fact that the BRB clearly states that a psyker has LOS with himself, his unit and the vehicle he is sitted in give him LOS to the target?
Yes. [brb]
Does the BRB allow a psyker to cast while in a transport on a target in LOS?
Yes. [brb]
Not allowing something is really different from disallowing it. The simple fact that something is not allowing him to cast, does not mean he is not allowed to cast by some different rule.
Suppose there was written a rule like this: "the fact that a model owns a fire weapon does not allow him to shoot."
I would reply with "well, my model has BS>0, he can shoot."
Nobody would dare to say "the faq is stating you can't shoot", right?
I feel this is quite the same.
And, though FAQ>BRB, the faq is not stating something against the brb, it's just stating something quite obvious.
My thought is, quite obviously, provocatory. I'll first try to explain my opponent that the faq is poorly written. In the case my opponent does not agree i'll prove me right using logic and raw.
|
English is not my mothertongue, sorry for grammar errors
3500
700 |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|