Switch Theme:

Clarification: Armor penetration  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Oklahoma City

So normally, you get a D6+Str to glance/pen

With an Armorbane weapon "instead you get 2d6"

But with Melta you "roll an additional D6 when rolling to penetrate a vehicle's armor at half range or less"

So just to be clear here, a character with armorbane and a Melta weapon is rolling 3d6+Str to penetrate vehicle armor

Seems pretty clear cut to me. Although the instances are few and far between, it sure would be awesome with an already Str 6 or 8 Melta weapon
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Second paragraph, the Shooting weapon has to have Armour bane.

If you had a Melta & Armour bane weapon; then yes you would have a 3d6+S Pen

But your model having Armour Bane and firing a Melta is still only 2D6+s

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

A character having that rule means his close combat attacks roll 2d6, just like Rending,Poison,... It doesn't transfer to his shooting attacks.As pointed out by Kel, it's clearly written in the Armourbane rule
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot




San Diego Ca

Also note that the "Melta rule" and "Armorbane" are seperate rules. So those pesky vehicles with ceramite type armor that negate the 2nd dice on the melta rule does not effect the armorbane weapon.
In short...you roll 1d6 with a melta gun (melta USR), but get 2d6 with melta bombs Armorbane USR).

Life isn't fair. But wouldn't it be worse if Life were fair, and all of the really terrible things that happen to us were because we deserved them?
M. Cole.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: