Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/01 21:45:39
Subject: Ordanance and tank hunter
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So ordanance lets you roll 2 dice and pick the highest and tank hunter lets you reroll all failed pens, would the combination of these two allow you to reroll both dice? I did do a search on the forum for this but it came up empty.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/01 21:47:44
Subject: Ordanance and tank hunter
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Yes. Ordnance pen rolls is the better of X+Strength and Y+Strength. Since both are armour pen rolls you can re-roll both.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/01 21:48:54
Subject: Ordanance and tank hunter
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Roll two dice pick the highest.
If you fail to pen repeat the above.
That's my interpretation anyway.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/01 21:52:08
Subject: Ordanance and tank hunter
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
Doesn't tank hunter only allow re rolls of glances?
So if i had a riptide that nova overcharged his ion with an attached commander who has a PEN, hits a tank, then rolls 2 dices, both glancing, i can reroll both of those and keep the result?
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/01 21:58:38
Subject: Re:Ordanance and tank hunter
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Thats where it gets interesting, can i leave a glance and reroll a miss.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/01 22:01:38
Subject: Ordanance and tank hunter
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
|
Desubot wrote:Doesn't tank hunter only allow re rolls of glances?
So if i had a riptide that nova overcharged his ion with an attached commander who has a PEN, hits a tank, then rolls 2 dices, both glancing, i can reroll both of those and keep the result?
Tank hunters allows you to reroll failed pens and glances.
I don't see why you wouldn't reroll both dice for glances, as that is how roll normally for ordinance. Unless tank hunters says you can only reroll one d6 somewhere, you're good.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/01 22:05:18
Subject: Ordanance and tank hunter
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
blargel ok i reread the rule and looks like you can reroll missed pens so ignore that part. (edit: double blarg ninja-ed while i was typing) Also wasn't there some kinda rule/faq that said if you had to reroll 2d6 you reroll both?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/01 22:06:04
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/01 22:07:42
Subject: Ordanance and tank hunter
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Desubot wrote:blargel ok i reread the rule and looks like you can reroll missed pens so ignore that part. (edit: double blarg ninja-ed while i was typing)
Also wasn't there some kinda rule/ faq that said if you had to reroll 2d6 you reroll both?
There is a rule that says if you re-roll a 2D6, 3D6 etc. you have to re-roll the entire thing. The issue is you are not rolling 2D6, you are rolling 2 1D6s.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/01 22:10:07
Subject: Re:Ordanance and tank hunter
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Sargow wrote:Thats where it gets interesting, can i leave a glance and reroll a miss.
No, because what you rolled is a glance. not a glance and a miss. And the ordnance roll for armour pen is 2d6 pick the highest. If that is not what you roll for either roll, you are not following the rule(s).
*Edit*
Actually happyjew is more correct that it is two 1d6 rolls.
*Edit 2*
In fact, the only thing I see that states it rolls 2d6 for armor penetration is Armourbane. Everything else is "an extra die".
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/05/01 22:19:29
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/02 05:10:55
Subject: Ordanance and tank hunter
|
 |
Water-Caste Negotiator
|
So, if some crazy weapon is somehow Melta, Armorbane, Ordnance, Rending, and Tank Hunter, what "dice" do you roll (2d6, 1d6+1d3, etc), in what combination, and which are you allowed to re-roll?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/02 05:28:03
Subject: Ordanance and tank hunter
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
uberjoras wrote:So, if some crazy weapon is somehow Melta, Armorbane, Ordnance, Rending, and Tank Hunter, what "dice" do you roll ( 2d6, 1d6+1d3, etc), in what combination, and which are you allowed to re-roll?
Ordnance is overridden by melta, you'd roll 2d6+1D6 with any 6 adding a D3 and you could reroll the initial 2d6+1d6 if you wished as that is your "armour penetration roll".
Not that hard.
It would be
3d6 rolled, choose to re-roll or not.
Any sixes add D3, roll those now.
Add it all together.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/02 05:32:45
Subject: Ordanance and tank hunter
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
Kevin949 wrote:uberjoras wrote:So, if some crazy weapon is somehow Melta, Armorbane, Ordnance, Rending, and Tank Hunter, what "dice" do you roll ( 2d6, 1d6+1d3, etc), in what combination, and which are you allowed to re-roll?
Ordnance is overridden by melta, you'd roll 2d6+1D6 with any 6 adding a D3 and you could reroll the initial 2d6+1d6 if you wished as that is your "armour penetration roll".
Not that hard.
It would be
3d6 rolled, choose to re-roll or not.
Any sixes add D3, roll those now.
Add it all together.
I disagree. The re-roll comes last. The D3's are explicitly added to the Armour Penetration Roll, and you can't tell if you've failed or Glanced until you add it all together. As Tank Hunters allows you to re-roll failed Penetration Rolls, you have to know that they've failed before you can re-roll them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/03 10:17:33
Subject: Ordanance and tank hunter
|
 |
Storming Storm Guardian
|
Please note that armourbane only works in close combat while ordnance and melta are specifically related to ranged weapons.
Moreover while is completely possibile for a ranged weapon to be both melta and ordnance I don't think such a weapon exist. This is both because those rules are designed to be either/or and because and ordnance-melta weapon doesn't make sense to me. (I may be completely failing on this point)
By the way, imho, such a weapon rolling to hit presents a case in which two effects would happen at the same time.
Controlling player decides to apply melta first and ordnance later. The effect is:
1D6 (normal) -> 2D6 (melta) -> Roll two dice instead of one so roll 2D6 and pick the highest than roll a single D6 and add up -> rending: from 0 to 2 additional D3 -> is that a glance? is that strenght to low? (tank hunter)
Instead controlling player could decide to apply ordnance first and melta later:
1D6 -> Roll twice and pick the highest -> Roll an additional dice and add up -> etc (as above).
As you can see (imho again) the result won't change at all and it is: Highest1(2D6) + 1D6 + rending
The whole can be repeated as for tank hunters.
|
English is not my mothertongue, sorry for grammar errors
3500
700 |
|
 |
 |
|