Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/02 03:30:14
Subject: Aegis and LoS rolls
|
 |
War Walker Pilot with Withering Fire
|
I recently played in a tourney will my eldar.
I had a FD exarch on the quad, who was a total monster with the thing. He's too good on it, people just kill it as priority 1.
I then started boxing him in. Creating the smallest possible area surrounding the quad and him, with maybe another dragon in the box. Mainly to try to get a coversave from a scatter.
Ordinance/barrage weapons can ignore an Aegis if it does not intervene between the centre of the template, and the model, yes?
If the closest model is the exarch, or say...and IC, I can LoS those wounds, and allocate them to the closest squad member, who maybe be on the otherside of the aegis, right? Am I correct in thinking this would then give me a coversave?
|
8,000 pts and counting
1,000 points, now painting. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/02 04:17:00
Subject: Aegis and LoS rolls
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Belly wrote:Ordinance/barrage weapons can ignore an Aegis if it does not intervene between the centre of the template, and the model, yes?
That's a barrage rule. It only applies to ordnance insofar as the ordnance weapon is also barrage. But, other than that caveat, yes. Barrage weapons determine cover from the center of the blast, so if the Aegis is not between a model and the center of the blast, it won't provide cover.
Belly wrote:If the closest model is the exarch, or say...and IC, I can LoS those wounds, and allocate them to the closest squad member, who maybe be on the otherside of the aegis, right? Am I correct in thinking this would then give me a coversave?
Yes, the model receiving the LOS! wound uses its own cover save. P.S.: LoS is normally Line of Sight. Subtle distinction and usually obvious from context anyway.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/02 23:32:58
Subject: Re: Aegis and LoS rolls
|
 |
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say
WI
|
I have a different question, now that the OP's question has been answered...
Is there anything anywhere that states the ADL does not block LoS from the shooters to the targets? Three examples...
1) If a vehicle is behind the wall (Predator with sponsons), 6th states that LoS is based off of the gun location. If this is true, only the turret of the Predator is clear of the ADL and can thus fire.
2) Someone has a kneeling fig (say a IG Heavy weapon squad) but is base to base with the wall. If he can't see over it, he can't shoot past it.
3) Setting is a tourney were a guy had a ADL mounted on top of a 1" hill with his troops behind it. His opponent got close enough where with a laser pointer none of the figs behind the wall had LoS on the unit because of the angle. 3-4 of us (myself included) scoured the rule books and could not find anything besides the base to base contact for the wall in melee. All we could determind is that the ADL is a wall, not a friendly unit because either side can use the gun, and it has nothing like 'Fire points' or the battlements rule. This is what lead to this question really...
If anyone could find something, anything to help clear this up, please give a page number or a copy+paste from the FAQ.
Thanks!
|
Been playing 40k on and off since 89.
Armies...
Orks, Eldar, Lamentors, Pre-Heresy EC, CSM EC, and IG. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/02 23:45:45
Subject: Aegis and LoS rolls
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
True line of Sight in all cases.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/02 23:47:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/03 07:03:39
Subject: Aegis and LoS rolls
|
 |
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say
WI
|
I am afraid this is the truth.
|
Been playing 40k on and off since 89.
Armies...
Orks, Eldar, Lamentors, Pre-Heresy EC, CSM EC, and IG. |
|
 |
 |
|
|