Switch Theme:

Focus fire  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Noob question but I have never really thought of nor used focus fire before nor has anyone really used it on me. Had a discussion the other day about it in regards to character sniping.

My character was around 5 models away from a shooter, those 5 models and character were in the open the rest of the squad was in 3plus cover from ruins and objective (scatterfield). If my opponent had focused fire then even though the models in the cover still could have taken their armour save I cannot assign the wounds to them correct?. Also Look out sir doesnt override this? it does for out of range and out of sight.

The models in cover cannot be killed from that shooting attack either can they?

Just wanted to make sure I am thinking of it correctly

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Focus fire requires that only models with a specific cover save can be hurt; there is no requirement for them to be actually USING that cover save.
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

You have this completely correct. In your example, the only reason for focussing fire would be to prevent Look out Sir! - the5 models between would be removed first anyway.

Where it gets useful is if a unit would only normally get cover saves against your attack. Character sniping opportunities using it are rare to say the least, most people putting a unit in cover will try and put the most valuable models in there out of habit anyway.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Look Out Sir does allow the wound to be RE-allocated to a model it couldn't normally be allocated to. It does have to be a model within 6" of the character, of course.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

 Mannahnin wrote:
Look Out Sir does allow the wound to be RE-allocated to a model it couldn't normally be allocated to. It does have to be a model within 6" of the character, of course.


I disagree. Page 16 says you can reallocate Look Out Sir! wounds to models that are out of range or line of sight. It gives no permission to allocate to a model that you can't allocate wounds to outside of those two. Meanwhile, page 18 very specifically states that restricting who you can allocate wounds to is how Focus Fire works.
The Look Out Sir! wording on page 26 - 'pick a model within 6"' - was of course overridden by FAQ to be the nearest model within 6" instead. That still doesn't specifically allow you to allocate to anything you couldn't allocate to before (besides range and line of sight).

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Super Ready wrote:
 Mannahnin wrote:
Look Out Sir does allow the wound to be RE-allocated to a model it couldn't normally be allocated to. It does have to be a model within 6" of the character, of course.


I disagree. Page 16 says you can reallocate Look Out Sir! wounds to models that are out of range or line of sight. It gives no permission to allocate to a model that you can't allocate wounds to outside of those two. Meanwhile, page 18 very specifically states that restricting who you can allocate wounds to is how Focus Fire works.
The Look Out Sir! wording on page 26 - 'pick a model within 6"' - was of course overridden by FAQ to be the nearest model within 6" instead. That still doesn't specifically allow you to allocate to anything you couldn't allocate to before (besides range and line of sight).


I tend to agree with SR on this, one of the reason why I wanted to check the process for focus fire, it would enable you to more effectively character snipe as LOS is restricted by the focus fire rule (in that only models out of LOS or range can be look out sir'ed.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





LOS does not allocate wounds. Its a rule that allows a different model to be effected by the wound instead of the character, after the wound has been allocated. But nowhere does it say that the wound is "reallocated", its simply applying its effects to a different model.

Its one of those rules like FNP that would be a save if the rules had specifically told you it was, but because they didn't it is not.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Azrell wrote:
LOS does not allocate wounds. Its a rule that allows a different model to be effected by the wound instead of the character, after the wound has been allocated. But nowhere does it say that the wound is "reallocated", its simply applying its effects to a different model.

Its one of those rules like FNP that would be a save if the rules had specifically told you it was, but because they didn't it is not.


Actually it does re-allocate the wound. Re-read the very last sentence of Look Out, Sir on page 16.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

 Azrell wrote:
its simply applying its effects to a different model.


This is exactly what allocating a wound does. Regardless, whatever term you use for it, you still don't have permission to apply/reallocate/shift/transfer the wound/effects to a model outside the Focus Fire group. Lastly - page 16 DOES infer that the wound is reallocated. The last line says "no further attempts to reallocate" (emphasis mine).

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: