Switch Theme:

A retributor with a heavy bolter and a simulacrum imperialis...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Flailing Flagellant





I know that this is primarily a RAW forum, but I would like some opinions on RAI, as the RAW seems pretty clear...

Here's the relevant rules text, since many won't have access to it:


Up to four Retributors may replace their boltguns with one of the following:...
- Heavy Bolter
...



One Retributor may take a Simulacrum Imperialis
...


Question becomes, can a retributor have both a heavy bolter and a simulacrum imperialis? RAW seems to be yes.

So then here somes the kink in the works, from the FAQ:

Q: If a model in a Sororitas Command Squad is equipped with a simulacrum imperialis or blessed banner, can they also be equipped with a special or heavy weapon? (p85)
A: No.


Options text are very similar:

One Celestian may take either:
- Simulacrum Imperialis...
- Blessed banner...



Any Celestian may replace her boltgun with:
...
- Heavy bolter
...


Although, RAW, the FAQ says nothing about Retributors, I would like to play "on-the-level" so to speak. So, how would you play it?

   
Made in se
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

The RAW isn't clear enough, and doesn't say that it's one or the other. I'd say the RAI is absolutely that it's either or though. Look at the simulacrum. It's a huge stick with a box on top of it. Even operating a bolter is gonna be awkward while lugging that thing around, and lik you said, the FAQ supports it... but still... the RAW is allowing it with no restrictions set.

I'll play it by keeping my simulacrum carrier using a bolter. Less eggs in a basket anyway.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/04 18:57:46


 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps






My Simulacrum Imperialis is the Inquisitorial I with the bones in it from the Grey Knights Terminator kit strapped to a Heavy Bolter Retributor's backpack.

I never thought of it as a rules issue, just a modelling one...

I'm on a podcast about (video) game design:
https://anchor.fm/makethatgame

And I also make tabletop wargaming videos!
https://www.youtube.com/@tableitgaming 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






I don't see why the situation would be different to the one in the FAQ so I'd go with the FAQ response, despite RAW clearly allowing you to take both IMO.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian





Atlanta

I would ask what the Command squad options say since rets and cels options may be worded differently from the command ones. RAW I would argue it doesn't replace and the FAQ mentions the command squad, not retributors.

My Sisters of Battle Thread
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/783053.page
 
   
Made in gb
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot





I would also go with yes, it doesnt say either or, and the FAQ only mentions the command squad, so crack on
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor





St. Louis, Missouri USA

Our local group plays it as yes, both a heavy bolter and simulacrum on one retributer.

however, i usually run a 6 man ret squad manning the aegis. 4 bolters, 1 bolter with sim, 1 superior. and i put both the bolter and superior in base to base with the quad, so if i lose a guy i have a backup to fire the quad without sacrificing a heavy bolter to man it.... unless i really, really need the 15pts elsewhere.

 
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




It's legal and has some benefits, but modelling it might be tricky. RAI maybe you aren't meant to, but you physically can.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






RAW: Yes, it does not take away a required item, and the FAQ does not forbid it(while it does forbid a similar situation in a similar squad)

RAI: Unknown, but likely not, it is expressly forbidden in a similar situation via FAQ.

HIWPI: I would add the extra sister to the squad, points willing I might add a few extra sisters for wound soaking, but it seems like they want it as 1/retributor just like the 1/celestian

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: