| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/05 15:46:21
Subject: Double perils
|
 |
Angered Reaver Arena Champion
Connah's Quay, North Wales
|
In a game vs. daemons Eldrad practically won the game for me, by that I mean runes of mindrape.....I mean warding won the game for me. One time when Kairos was trying to do some hokus pokus Runes of rape kicked in and he rolled 6,6,2. Does this means he periled twice? One from runes of warding special rules and 1 from rolling double 6, that's how me played it. It made him an easy warlord point when he didn't dare do any more magic because he was too scared of dying!
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/05 15:50:39
Subject: Double perils
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Come on man... Lets try and use the word Rape a little less ¬¬....
And i'd say no, as doesn't the rule for runes of Warding say that they suffer perils on a double 1, 6 or getting more than a 12?
|
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/05 15:55:58
Subject: Re:Double perils
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Errata from the FAQ: (Since someone mentioned the wording...)
Page 26 – Runes of Warding.
Change the last sentence to: “All enemy Psykers must roll an extra dice when taking Psychic tests, suffering Perils of the Warp on any roll of 12 or above.”
This doesn't strictly say that it replaces the standard Perils circumstances (I don't have a RAW argument to say it does), but this is the first time I've heard of anyone that plays it that both the Runes and standard Perils both apply.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/05 16:19:38
Subject: Double perils
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Hmm...
I'd say its only on the roll of 12 or more then imo
|
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/05 17:30:06
Subject: Re:Double perils
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
pretty sure you can only suffer Perils once per test,.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/05 17:34:52
Subject: Re:Double perils
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
Pretty sure that when you make a Psychic Test, you suffer a single Perils of the Warp if you meet any of the Perils conditions, not one per. Never seen it run any other way.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/05 19:28:43
Subject: Double perils
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
When you roll 3D6, you cannot roll double 1's, since there are three dice involved. You can roll TRIPLE 1's, but that is not what triggers a Perils, per BRB p67.
Runes of Warding causes a Perils on a 3D6 roll of 12+, but does not cause Perils on a 3D6 roll of 3. The Perils section in the BRB is contingent on the fact that only two dice are involved. Having a result on 3D6 negates the normal guidelines for Perils.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/05 19:34:36
Subject: Double perils
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:When you roll 3D6, you cannot roll double 1's, since there are three dice involved. You can roll TRIPLE 1's, but that is not what triggers a Perils, per BRB p67.
Rolling three dice can still net you a double, and the Perils rule says "double 1" not "total of 2". As an example (from a different system but hey) in WHFB when casting spells a "double 6" is important regardless of how many dice you are rolling.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/05 19:36:44
Subject: Double perils
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:When you roll 3D6, you cannot roll double 1's, since there are three dice involved. You can roll TRIPLE 1's, but that is not what triggers a Perils, per BRB p67.
Runes of Warding causes a Perils on a 3D6 roll of 12+, but does not cause Perils on a 3D6 roll of 3. The Perils section in the BRB is contingent on the fact that only two dice are involved. Having a result on 3D6 negates the normal guidelines for Perils.
You CAN, in fact, roll double 1s on a 3d6. It's when you roll 2 1's, and there is nothing on p67 that implies perils only happens if all the dice rolled are 1s or 6s (in fact, it uses the very specific language "double 1" and "double 6", i.e., having 2 dice turn up as 1 or having 2 dice turn up as 6)
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/05 20:21:07
Subject: Double perils
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Rihgu wrote: Elric Greywolf wrote:When you roll 3D6, you cannot roll double 1's, since there are three dice involved. You can roll TRIPLE 1's, but that is not what triggers a Perils, per BRB p67.
Runes of Warding causes a Perils on a 3D6 roll of 12+, but does not cause Perils on a 3D6 roll of 3. The Perils section in the BRB is contingent on the fact that only two dice are involved. Having a result on 3D6 negates the normal guidelines for Perils.
You CAN, in fact, roll double 1s on a 3d6. It's when you roll 2 1's, and there is nothing on p67 that implies perils only happens if all the dice rolled are 1s or 6s (in fact, it uses the very specific language "double 1" and "double 6", i.e., having 2 dice turn up as 1 or having 2 dice turn up as 6)
Although any 3d6 roll could never be just a double. It would always be the double and then whatever the extra dice is.... There is obviously a difference between double 1 + 3 and just a double 1. Looks like it's just something that will have to be decided before the game starts.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/05 20:21:25
Subject: Double perils
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
At least we can again roll invul saves versus Perils, per the current BRB FAQ.
On subject, 3d6 can still net Double 1's and double 6's. However, the wording of the "Runes of Warding" special rule does override the normal Perils condition, as it replaces the values of Double 1's or 6's with 12+ (a likely chance on 3d6). If the wording stated we should follow all rules for Perils in the BRB with the addition that any roll of 12 or more will also Peril, then all three conditions would apply. As is, the 12+ condition replaces the Doubles condition in this case.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/05 20:26:45
Subject: Double perils
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Mind specifying where this is in the FaQ, I can not find it.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/05 20:30:20
Subject: Double perils
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
BRB FAQ 1.4 (April 13), 1st page, in pink:
Page 17 – Invulnerable Saves
Change the second paragraph to “Invulnerable saves are
different to armour saves because they may always be taken
whenever the model suffers a Wound or, in the case of vehicles,
suffers a penetrating or glancing hit – the Armour Piercing
value of attacking weapons has no effect upon an Invulnerable
save. Even if a Wound, penetrating hit or glancing hit ignores
all armour saves, an invulnerable save can still be taken”.
Last I checked, Perils inflicts a wound on a model. Per the above quote, invul saves are now allowed versus all wounds suffered by a model.
SJ
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/05 20:34:24
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/05 20:34:14
Subject: Double perils
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
The FAQ added in the ability for vehicles to take Invulns.
The rest of the wording is as it has been.
Perils still allows "no saves of any kind," which still includes Invulns.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/05 20:44:52
Subject: Double perils
|
 |
Angered Reaver Arena Champion
Connah's Quay, North Wales
|
My question to him way 'why not?'. This probably wasn't the right thing to say an all (something about a permissive rule set I don't understand) but its a good question. Nothing in the runes of warding says it over rides normal perils, nore does it say that perils can only be incurred once. In the rule book it says if a double 1 or 6 is rolled, it doesn't say that those dice are the only dice that may be rolled.
So the way I see it is there is no reason why he wouldn't take double perils, so that's why he did. Is this wrong?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/05 20:50:03
Subject: Double perils
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
jeffersonian000 wrote:Last I checked, Perils inflicts a wound on a model. Per the above quote, invul saves are now allowed versus all wounds suffered by a model.
SJ
That would work, except perils says no saves of any kind are allowed, so you can not take invuln saves against perils.
I thought there was something specific you were talking about.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/05 20:52:46
Subject: Double perils
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
I think the wording of SitW is key here -
"suffer a Perils of the Warp attack on the roll of any double 1 or double 6."
Now, without the little "a" there, an argument could be made that a model that rolls trip 1's would suffer 3 Perils of the Warp (1 for each double). However, the wording is that regardless of how many double 1's or double 6's you roll you still only suffer 1 PotW.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/08 02:13:42
Subject: Double perils
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
jeffersonian000 wrote:At least we can again roll invul saves versus Perils, per the current BRB FAQ.
On subject, 3d6 can still net Double 1's and double 6's. However, the wording of the "Runes of Warding" special rule does override the normal Perils condition, as it replaces the values of Double 1's or 6's with 12+ (a likely chance on 3d6). If the wording stated we should follow all rules for Perils in the BRB with the addition that any roll of 12 or more will also Peril, then all three conditions would apply. As is, the 12+ condition replaces the Doubles condition in this case.
SJ
Sorry, I guess I'm confused.  I looked at Runes of Warding again, and I can't find where it says that it overrides the normal Perils condition. I just found the part where it says 'suffering a Perils of the Warp attack on any roll of 12 or above.' I grant that it adds to the normal set of Perils conditions, but I don't see how that replaces the normal set of circumstances. Am I just being unreasonable, or are other people seeing it that way, too? Sorry, I'm not trying to be argumentative, but I've been all fired up about adding some Eldar allies, and this would be a fly in my ointment...
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/08 02:43:28
Subject: Double perils
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:When you roll 3D6, you cannot roll double 1's, since there are three dice involved. You can roll TRIPLE 1's, but that is not what triggers a Perils, per BRB p67.
Runes of Warding causes a Perils on a 3D6 roll of 12+, but does not cause Perils on a 3D6 roll of 3. The Perils section in the BRB is contingent on the fact that only two dice are involved. Having a result on 3D6 negates the normal guidelines for Perils.
This.
BRB says the roll IS a double 6. 6, 6, 2 is not a double 6, although it contains one.
As opposed to Shadows in the Warp, which is worded slightly differently, and would cause perils on 6, 6, 2 but not on 6, 5, 4.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|