Switch Theme:

skimmer and defense lines  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Was playing in a game recently and this came into question, do skimmers get the cover save provided by an Aegis Defense Line?
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Is the skimmer 25% obscurred from the firer?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Yup, it's all down to LOS. If the skimmer is sufficiently obscured from the point of view of the firer, then yes, of course it would.

 
   
Made in us
Apprehensive Inquisitorial Apprentice




Columbia SC

 insaniak wrote:
Yup, it's all down to LOS. If the skimmer is sufficiently obscured from the point of view of the firer, then yes, of course it would.


Coincidentally it is hard to get LOS obscurement on a skimmer from an ADL, the skimmer stand supplied by GW is too tall. Tau fish may be low enough but the D Eldar have nothing short enough to gain obscurement.
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Scottsdale, AZ

 Inquisitor Lord Cuthbert wrote:
 insaniak wrote:
Yup, it's all down to LOS. If the skimmer is sufficiently obscured from the point of view of the firer, then yes, of course it would.


Coincidentally it is hard to get LOS obscurement on a skimmer from an ADL, the skimmer stand supplied by GW is too tall. Tau fish may be low enough but the D Eldar have nothing short enough to gain obscurement.


Get/Make shorter stands. There is no rule about using the provided stands, I have some speeders on short stands because it was getting hard to hide them. use a shorter peg on the same size base.

"Not all who wander are lost." -J.R.R. Tolkien

ARMIES:
5000+
2000+
1000+
1000+
2500+
1000+ 
   
Made in us
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot





 hcordes wrote:
 Inquisitor Lord Cuthbert wrote:
 insaniak wrote:
Yup, it's all down to LOS. If the skimmer is sufficiently obscured from the point of view of the firer, then yes, of course it would.


Coincidentally it is hard to get LOS obscurement on a skimmer from an ADL, the skimmer stand supplied by GW is too tall. Tau fish may be low enough but the D Eldar have nothing short enough to gain obscurement.


Get/Make shorter stands. There is no rule about using the provided stands, I have some speeders on short stands because it was getting hard to hide them. use a shorter peg on the same size base.


Because that's not modelling for advantage at all...
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






 hcordes wrote:
 Inquisitor Lord Cuthbert wrote:
 insaniak wrote:
Yup, it's all down to LOS. If the skimmer is sufficiently obscured from the point of view of the firer, then yes, of course it would.


Coincidentally it is hard to get LOS obscurement on a skimmer from an ADL, the skimmer stand supplied by GW is too tall. Tau fish may be low enough but the D Eldar have nothing short enough to gain obscurement.


Get/Make shorter stands. There is no rule about using the provided stands, I have some speeders on short stands because it was getting hard to hide them. use a shorter peg on the same size base.


You mean like on page 3?

MODELS AND BASE SIZES
The rules in this book assume that models are mounted on the base
they are supplied with. Sometimes, a player may have models in
his collection on unusually modeled bases. Some models aren't
supplied with a base at all. In these cases (which are, in all fairness,
relatively few and far between), you should always feel free to
mount the model on a base of appropriate size if you wish, using
models of a similar type as guidance.

While it's not 100% spelled out that you must use the base supplied, it IS spelled out that you must use one of the appropriate size for the model type. Else you are required to use the base supplied.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 hcordes wrote:
There is no rule about using the provided stands

Rulebook Page 3 wrote:The rules in this book assume that models are mounted on the base they are supplied with.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Inquisitor Lord Cuthbert wrote:
 insaniak wrote:
Yup, it's all down to LOS. If the skimmer is sufficiently obscured from the point of view of the firer, then yes, of course it would.


Coincidentally it is hard to get LOS obscurement on a skimmer from an ADL, the skimmer stand supplied by GW is too tall. Tau fish may be low enough but the D Eldar have nothing short enough to gain obscurement.

You're making the assumption that the table is flat and has no hills, etc.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in au
Khorne Rhino Driver with Destroyer





I have a mate who thinks it is ok to take his skimmer off the stand completely and place the model on the ground... "you rhino doesn't have a base why should my grav tank have to" is his argument

BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD  
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Point him to the Skimmer rules, which tell us that Skimmers ARE on bases and only give permission to remove it if the Skimmer is Immobilized or Destroyed.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in au
Khorne Rhino Driver with Destroyer





Been there, he is quite stubborn. He also claims "nowhere in the rule book does it say you cannot model for advantage" so naturally he has 6' high agis defense lines and countless other stupid things. Technically he is right... it doesn't mention Modeling for advantage... but its common sense

BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD  
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Point out that it also doesn't say that you don't automatically win the moment he removes the base from his skimmer, claim the victory and pack up your stuff...

 
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets



Right behind you...

 insaniak wrote:
Point out that it also doesn't say that you don't automatically win the moment he removes the base from his skimmer, claim the victory and pack up your stuff...

+1... lol

Armies in my closet:  
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Technically he's not right. Don't play with jerks and you won't have these problems.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

 Juggalo17 wrote:
6' high agis defense lines


If his strategy is, "Don't move, don't shoot, and don't assault," then this would be a very handy ADL. But if he ever wants LoS....

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in fk
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

Marshall Ragnar wrote:
Because that's not modelling for advantage at all...


I'm going to use this quote Marshall, but not to pick on you.

So if I use the shorter peg I'm modelling for advantage, but you making me use the taller peg isn't? (Sorry OT maybe I'll start a thread elsewhere)

Cheers

Andrew

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

I have no issue with using either (any?) of the pegs provided by GW. Marshall R was responding to a comment claiming that you don't have to use those, and are free to make shorter ones. Which is clearly modeling for advantage.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in fk
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

I've taken that thought to General Discussion Mannahnin. I've always used my Devilfish and HHeads without stands because of the landing gear rules. (that and breaking the tips off flight stands)

Cheers

Andrew

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 AndrewC wrote:
I've taken that thought to General Discussion Mannahnin. I've always used my Devilfish and HHeads without stands because of the landing gear rules. (that and breaking the tips off flight stands)

The landing gear rules didn't allow you to remove the base...

 
   
Made in fk
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

When they first came out they did.

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Which is now 2 codexes ago?

So you dont get to use them anymore. The current codex does not give you any permission to do so, so you cannot do so.
   
Made in us
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot





 AndrewC wrote:
Marshall Ragnar wrote:
Because that's not modelling for advantage at all...


I'm going to use this quote Marshall, but not to pick on you.

So if I use the shorter peg I'm modelling for advantage, but you making me use the taller peg isn't? (Sorry OT maybe I'll start a thread elsewhere)

Cheers

Andrew


Not a problem. And the shorter one that is provided is totolly fine. I made that comment about using totolly different pegs that were made to be as short as possible.
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan





Scotland

 Kevin949 wrote:


You mean like on page 3?

MODELS AND BASE SIZES
The rules in this book assume that models are mounted on the base
they are supplied with. Sometimes, a player may have models in
his collection on unusually modeled bases. Some models aren't
supplied with a base at all. In these cases (which are, in all fairness,
relatively few and far between), you should always feel free to
mount the model on a base of appropriate size if you wish, using
models of a similar type as guidance.

While it's not 100% spelled out that you must use the base supplied, it IS spelled out that you must use one of the appropriate size for the model type. Else you are required to use the base supplied.


I'd just like to point out that some kits come with a "large" stand and a "small" stand.

In that case, you can choose.

Iranna.

 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 AndrewC wrote:
When they first came out they did.


Just out of curiosity, can anyone point to a page in the 4th edition rulebook that allowed you to remove the base? I know in 5th (and 6th edition) you only could remove the base if Immobilised or Wrecked.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Landing gear never let you remove the base. Some players just assumed that because skimmers have flight bases, something that makes them not a skimmer temporarily should mean the bar is removed.

Removing the base was a common convention, but never a rule.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Juggalo17 wrote:
Been there, he is quite stubborn. He also claims "nowhere in the rule book does it say you cannot model for advantage" so naturally he has 6' high agis defense lines and countless other stupid things. Technically he is right... it doesn't mention Modeling for advantage... but its common sense


This sounds like an atypical dark eldar player j/k

You could always do some turn about and make him check LoS from each gun barrel a 6 inch tall ADL or no base skimmer can't have LoS to much.
   
Made in fk
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Which is now 2 codexes ago?

So you dont get to use them anymore. The current codex does not give you any permission to do so, so you cannot do so.


Yeah, I know. Old dog, new tricks and all that.

Cheers

Andrew

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






 Iranna wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:


You mean like on page 3?

MODELS AND BASE SIZES
The rules in this book assume that models are mounted on the base
they are supplied with. Sometimes, a player may have models in
his collection on unusually modeled bases. Some models aren't
supplied with a base at all. In these cases (which are, in all fairness,
relatively few and far between), you should always feel free to
mount the model on a base of appropriate size if you wish, using
models of a similar type as guidance.

While it's not 100% spelled out that you must use the base supplied, it IS spelled out that you must use one of the appropriate size for the model type. Else you are required to use the base supplied.


I'd just like to point out that some kits come with a "large" stand and a "small" stand.

In that case, you can choose.

Iranna.


Ya, the new C'tan for necrons come with both 40 and 60mm bases.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: