Switch Theme:

Multiple combat...pile-in or consolidate?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





The other day we had an interesting assault happen.

Situation:

My harlies with eldrad and shadowseer are interlocked with my opponents Archon and incubi. A round goes by and we are still in combat. My turn comes around and My Avatar is tasting blood after bringing down his Nightwing (all luck) and joins the harly/incubi fight. My Avatar calls out a challenge and the Archon accepts, fighting happens and his 2++ save is the only thing saving his ass. The Harly/Eldrad squad then proceeds to wipe out the incubi from existence and the Archon passes his leadership and stay in the challenge.

Now for the question:

Would the Harly/Eldrad group consolidate after wiping out the incubi or are they still in combat? We ruled it as since the Avatar is separate from the harlies and the incubi are gone, the Archon is now on his own and the harly squad consolidated. Was this done properly?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/08 10:07:28


Color Scheme
Luggnath Army

Field testing>>>Paper testing 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




They are still in combat, as it is a multiple combat.

They must attempt to pile in to the Archon; iff they cannot make base would you conslildate as you are no longer in combat
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





nosferatu1001 wrote:
They are still in combat, as it is a multiple combat.

They must attempt to pile in to the Archon; iff they cannot make base would you conslildate as you are no longer in combat


the archon is in a challenge though. That's what is tripping us up.

Color Scheme
Luggnath Army

Field testing>>>Paper testing 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Irrelevant. You are still in a multiple combat.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




They would provide moral support, if there are enough of them alive for that combat.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





kk I guess we did that wrong then. Thanks.

Color Scheme
Luggnath Army

Field testing>>>Paper testing 
   
Made in gb
Lit By the Flames of Prospero





Bearing Words in Rugby

That's true, they'd cheer the Avatar on, he's still technically in the same squad, act as if it were just him you were in combat with, because technically you're in multiple combat with ICs within the squad

Muh Black Templars
Blacksails wrote:Maybe you should read your own posts before calling someone else's juvenile.
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

The Avatar is not an IC in the squad. He's a Monstrous Creature.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





 Mannahnin wrote:
The Avatar is not an IC in the squad. He's a Monstrous Creature.


so is nosferatu right when he said I would have to pile in?

Color Scheme
Luggnath Army

Field testing>>>Paper testing 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Yes you would pile in, as they were involved in the combat.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Relevant FAQ entry:
Q: Two of my units are involved in a multiple combat against an
enemy unit that has been reduced to a single character. If that
character is currently fighting in a challenge with a character from
one of my two units, is it possible for my unengaged unit to
consolidate and leave the combat? (p27)
A: No, though they do count for Moral Support re-rolls.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





kk thank you.

Color Scheme
Luggnath Army

Field testing>>>Paper testing 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: