Switch Theme:

Can an Independent Character join units such as Riptide?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




My friend argued that his IC can join his Riptide, and confer that majority toughness gives his IC a toughness 6. Is this correct?
   
Made in nz
Longtime Dakkanaut





United Kingdom

I think Riptides can be joined, the only restriction would be if it is a unit that always consists of one model, such as Mephiston.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




rnlmeat0666 wrote:
My friend argued that his IC can join his Riptide, and confer that majority toughness gives his IC a toughness 6. Is this correct?

The restrictions on ICs is that they cannot join units that ALWAYS consist of a single model, or vehicles

Is the riptide ALWAYS a single model? No
Is the riptide a vehicle? No

The IC can join.

Now majority toughness only works when rolling to-wound, not for ID or anthing else like that. So yes, when rolling to wound against a krak missile the crisis HQ plus a riptide is T6, however if you fail a save on the Suit you are getting pasted by S8 v T4
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Thanks for the clarification, he was trying to claim I couldn't ID his Farseer from my str 6 Incinerator
   
Made in us
Apprehensive Inquisitorial Apprentice




Columbia SC

Eldercaveman wrote:
I think Riptides can be joined, the only restriction would be if it is a unit that always consists of one model, such as Mephiston.


Bad example as Mephiston is not an IC.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Yes, a Riptide is not a unit that always consists of a single model. It has the ability to add drones.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon





I think the point is not Mephiston joining but being joined. He cannot join since he is not an IC (as you stated). He also cannot be joined by an IC, since he is always a single model. A Riptide can be joined since it has the option to include Drones. [Ghosted on the last part. D'oh!]

Homer

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/08 17:32:02


The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Scottsdale, AZ

I posted a similar thread, yeah, it is legal, however much i disagree but ill chalk it up to cheese/bad form lol. Riptide with Shadowsun, was the combo i saw doing the most damage.
the trick against this would more than likely be some kind of flyer spam, or drop pod/deepstrike get in their face kind of army.

"Not all who wander are lost." -J.R.R. Tolkien

ARMIES:
5000+
2000+
1000+
1000+
2500+
1000+ 
   
Made in nz
Longtime Dakkanaut





United Kingdom

 Inquisitor Lord Cuthbert wrote:
Eldercaveman wrote:
I think Riptides can be joined, the only restriction would be if it is a unit that always consists of one model, such as Mephiston.


Bad example as Mephiston is not an IC.


I would say it was a perfect example, of a single model unit that cannot ever be joined be an independent character.

Bad example of reading.

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Nos, I haven't found any rules that change the unit size for the Riptide.

Under the Riptide entry its lists it as One Riptide, not 1-3 like Carnifex's (for example).

Does the addition of the drones since they are model preclude the 1 Riptide Unit?

I would apprecate a clairification so I can follow.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Yes, thats exactly what they do.

Drones are models. Therefor, since the Riptide can take them it cannot be a unit that only ever consists of one model. Nothing requires the models in question to be the same.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/08 18:17:04


Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Grey, But the Riptide Unit is still only ever 1 Riptide a Single Model it never loses this distinction at least not that I've found.
   
Made in us
Aspirant Tech-Adept





St. Louis

It doesn't have to be more than one riptide, just more than one model. So is a riptide with two drones a unit consisting of more than 1 model? If it is then an IC can attach.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




The Drones added dont change the Unit Entry which designates how many models are part of the unit.

Are there any other examples in any other codex or faq in which we can draw a parellel?

Edit
I'm not being purposfully obtuse. I always read the can't join units that consist of one model as one model in the unit entry.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/08 19:08:43


 
   
Made in us
Aspirant Tech-Adept





St. Louis

Yonush wrote:
The Drones added dont change the Unit Entry which designates how many models are part of the unit.

Are there any other examples in any other codex or faq in which we can draw a parellel?

Edit
I'm not being purposfully obtuse. I always read the can't join units that consist of one model as one model in the unit entry.


Hive tyrants with tyrant guard can have a prime attached.

Further, the rule doesn't say models that are 1+ in a codex. It goes out of its way to say units that only ever consist of a single model. Put it this way, if i point to your riptide unit with 2 drones and ask how many models are in that unit, do you say 1 or 3?


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/08 19:19:37


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The definition of a "unit" means that, as soon as you add a drone, the "unit" consists now of 2 models.

That is all the permission you need.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Yonush wrote:
The Drones added dont change the Unit Entry which designates how many models are part of the unit.

Are there any other examples in any other codex or faq in which we can draw a parellel?

Edit
I'm not being purposfully obtuse. I always read the can't join units that consist of one model as one model in the unit entry.

Chaos Space Marines. page 95 of their codex.
Unit Composition:
4 Chaos Space Marines
1 Aspiring Champion


May add up to fifteen Chaos Space Marines .... X pts/model

The Unit Comp. is the starting unit comp. That does not mean it's the only configuration possible.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Melchiour wrote:

Hive tyrants with tyrant guard can have a prime attached.


This is a false representation. A prime can't join a Tyrant unless there the tyrant joins the guard because of the Guard rule that allows the Tyrant to join as an IC. A prime can't join a tyrant on his own because he never loses the Unit Entry of One Tyrant designation.


Further, the rule doesn't say models that are 1+ in a codex. It goes out of its way to say units that only ever consist of a single model. Put it this way, if i point to your riptide unit with 2 drones and ask how many models are in that unit, do you say 1 or 3?


The additional drones in the unit have special rules to be there, they are part of the unit but a Riptide is still a Unit of One in the Entry.

The physical addition of models with special rules to a Unit of 1 model doesn't remove this restriction.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
rigeld2 wrote:
Chaos Space Marines. page 95 of their codex.
Unit Composition:
4 Chaos Space Marines
1 Aspiring Champion


May add up to fifteen Chaos Space Marines .... X pts/model

The Unit Comp. is the starting unit comp. That does not mean it's the only configuration possible.


So to clairify, because there may be special rules that allow more than one model in a Unit, where the Unit has a "Unit of One X" that allows IC to override the Can't join a Unit of one?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/08 19:37:23


 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

The forum has a search function you guys, this subject pops up daily it seems.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Yonush wrote:
So to clairify, because there may be special rules that allow more than one model in a Unit, where the Unit has a "Unit of One X" that allows IC to override the Can't join a Unit of one?

There's no "Unit of One X" - that's you misreading.
It starts as a unit of one. You can buy more models for it. It's no longer a unit of one.
ICs can join a unit that isn't always a unit of one.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Then why list Carnifex as 1-3 instead of 1 and can purchase 2 more?

To clairify my position, I believe that the "can't join a unit that conists of only 1" restriction references the Unit Entry, not the physical models on the table.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/08 19:55:33


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Yonush wrote:
Then why list Carnifex as 1-3 instead of 1 and can purchase 2 more?

Different Codexes. Look up firewarriors - how are they worded?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Dunno, my Tau Codex is at home and I'm at work. I'll have to take your word for the exact quote.
   
Made in us
Aspirant Tech-Adept





St. Louis

As an example, Tau crisis suits are listed as "Unit composition 1 crisis suit" then under options you can buy more, having up to 3 total.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 Melchiour wrote:
As an example, Tau crisis suits are listed as "Unit composition 1 crisis suit" then under options you can buy more, having up to 3 total.


Hrm... That does throw a wrench into my line of thinking... I don't think anyone could posit that Crisis Suits can't have an IC join them because the Unit Entry says 1 Suit. And if you allow the may buy more phrasing, then that also affects drones...
   
Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







If the drones and Riptide form a unit, wouldn't that bring the majority toughness down to the toughness of the drones?
   
Made in us
Aspirant Tech-Adept





St. Louis

 ClassicCarraway wrote:
If the drones and Riptide form a unit, wouldn't that bring the majority toughness down to the toughness of the drones?


Drones for riptide are T6.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Melchiour wrote:
 ClassicCarraway wrote:
If the drones and Riptide form a unit, wouldn't that bring the majority toughness down to the toughness of the drones?


Drones for riptide are T6.


If we are talking about drones, there will be more then one of them, so two t3 (assuming drones are t3) and one t6 means the squad is wounded as they all are t3.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in au
Trustworthy Shas'vre






...The Riptide drones are T6 on their unit entry (because thankfully someone at GW realised what would happen if the drones were T4,yet didn't realise what would happen if the Riptide wasn't Fearless)....
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

To be fair, if your Riptide gets caught in melee you deserve to lose it.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: