Switch Theme:

Karanak and Runes of Witnessing.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan





Scotland

Hey guys, quick question that game up in a game a couple of days ago.

If Karanak is within 12" of a Farseer with Runes of Witnessing, do you discard the additional D6 after checking for Perils! on any roll of a double or after?

Eg.

Eldrad rolls 4,5,5 for his psychic test.

Would he then Perils! for rolling 2 fives or not Perils! because you discard one of the 5 results?

Thanks,

Iranna.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/12 23:42:36


 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Karanak's rule says the psyker perils on any roll which includes a double. I would be inclined to say that means the final roll. So after discarded/disregarded dice.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan





Scotland

 Mannahnin wrote:
Karanak's rule says the psyker perils on any roll which includes a double. I would be inclined to say that means the final roll. So after discarded/disregarded dice.


That's what I was inclined to say, but the word "any" made me doubt it.

Iranna.

 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Another argument that could be made is since neither rule uses a qualifier like "immediately", they could be said to happen at the same time. So the player whose turn it is gets to choose whether Karanak's rule applies first or the extra die is dropped first (this will usually be the Eldar player).

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: