Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/15 05:16:08
Subject: side sponson weapons and potms
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
So I see this subject has been addressed before, but I was hoping someone could cite some rules. It is my thinking that side sponson weapons, though bought together, are functionally two separate weapons, and so can be fired at different targets if using POTMS. thanks!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/15 05:19:57
Subject: side sponson weapons and potms
|
 |
Ancient Venerable Black Templar Dreadnought
|
Yes, POTMS allows a separate shot as per the rule.
Read up on how many guns can be fired based on your movement. One more shot can be fired due to the POTMS rule.
Nothing tricky there.
|
A revolution is an idea which has found its bayonets.
Napoleon Bonaparte |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/15 11:17:03
Subject: side sponson weapons and potms
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
One sponson can be fired at a different target. Not both.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/15 11:20:53
Subject: side sponson weapons and potms
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
What grendel said, he's spot on. Each sponson is counted as a separate weapon for the purposes of shooting and vehicle damage allocation but PotMS allows one of them to shoot at something else if you like. Always handy!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/15 17:24:54
Subject: side sponson weapons and potms
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Yes as I said that was my thinking, but I can't actually find any rules that state as much. I played an opponent who felt that both sponsons (having been bought together) have to fired at one target regardless of POTMS, and while I think pretty much anyone would say he is wrong it is always nice to have a rule to cite.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/15 17:25:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/15 17:30:28
Subject: side sponson weapons and potms
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
See the way that they are not 1 gun? That is how you know they are two weapons.
If your opponent can show you a reason why they must be fired at the same target then go with it but since no such rule exists you're fine.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/15 17:31:36
Subject: side sponson weapons and potms
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
They very much separate weapons. With weapon arcs it's not very easy to fire both sponsons at the same target.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 04:16:53
Subject: Re:side sponson weapons and potms
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
Side sponson weapons are counted separately for the results of a weapon destroyed, so why in this instance would they be counted as one.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 04:28:37
Subject: Re:side sponson weapons and potms
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
POKEYtheBIG wrote:Side sponson weapons are counted separately for the results of a weapon destroyed, so why in this instance would they be counted as one.
They wouldn't. Shoot your primary weapons, then declare a POTMS attack to use one sponson to hit another target. Simple.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/16 04:28:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 05:55:45
Subject: Re:side sponson weapons and potms
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
SoloFalcon1138 wrote:Shoot your primary weapons, then declare a POTMS attack to use one sponson to hit another target. Simple.
You have to declare all of your shots, then shoot.
You can not shoot your main weapons "then declare a POTMS attack to use one sponson to hit another target."
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|