Super Ready wrote:The newer Codexes won't allow it unless the wording is very specific, because the rules are tied to the weapon profile. For instance, a model with a Power Fist doesn't suffer from Unwieldy if it doesn't use it.
For the older Codexes, it comes down to how the rule is applied. In the case of the Dreadknight and the Defiler, while the rule applies to owning the weapon, the rule itself is still found under the bestiary entry for the unit, and there's nothing stating the weapon must actually be used.
Are there other examples? Probably... not that I can think of any off the top of my head. Everything I *CAN* think of uses wording similar to "a model using", "a model wielding" or "attacks made with this weapon".
I might be misreading what you meant, but:
-Defilers are in a newer codex
-Unwieldy, and how two different weapons are NORMALLY used together is not in question at all.
-the special abilities that the two units are combining are found under the weapons entrees not the unit's entrees.
Those two weapons both use the wording of "a model with"
The chaos deamons codex, which doesnt have much of a
faq yet, has the following:
Blade of blood: the bearer of the blade of blood has rampage
Mutating warpblade: If the bearer slays x, do special stuff (never mentions that the slaying must be done with this weapon like most of the weapons in this very same codex do)
So looking at how every other weapon in the same codex specifies that it must be that weapon doing it, do those two weapons grant thier ability even if a differnt weapon does the killing. IE herald with axe of khorne and blade of blood getting rampage and decapitating blows, or a tzeentch herald with mutating warpblade and eatherblade getting ap2 and mutating characters it slays.