| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 09:15:38
Subject: Ogre Rune Maw question
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
The Rune Maw banner states that on a 2+ the opposing player must choose another target for their spell.
If there are no other Ogre units around to redirect the spell to, can they be forced to put it on one of their own units or does the spell have no effect?
|
Chaos Space Marines - Iron Warriors & Night Lords 7900pts
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 10:56:57
Subject: Ogre Rune Maw question
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Are there eligible targets? Could they target their own units with the spell if you didn't have the rune maw?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 11:19:15
Subject: Ogre Rune Maw question
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
No thats a good point.
I would imagine then if there are no eligible targets then the spell (and the power dice to cast it) are wasted?
|
Chaos Space Marines - Iron Warriors & Night Lords 7900pts
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 11:40:44
Subject: Ogre Rune Maw question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
They must pick another target. This must be a legal target, as you are given no indications otherwise, and if none exist the spell would be wasted.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 11:49:45
Subject: Ogre Rune Maw question
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
That is correct. Though some spells can target your own units. I could imagine the Rune Naw effecting drain magic could be hilarious! Just when that HE player thought he'd switched off your regen he shuts down his own wyssans or ward save  .
Though I don't the chaos player being too upset at having to cast curse of the leper on his own unit.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 13:40:40
Subject: Ogre Rune Maw question
|
 |
Crazed Gorger
Illinois, United States
|
Keep in mind, the Rune Maw says 'any spell' so that includes your own!
But ya, the rules for it state that if there are no other eligible targets, the spell is simply wasted.
|
-Magless
2000 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 16:27:21
Subject: Ogre Rune Maw question
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
Hmm, didn't think it would include my own but I can see it would now.
Cheers!
|
Chaos Space Marines - Iron Warriors & Night Lords 7900pts
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 16:35:16
Subject: Ogre Rune Maw question
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
They FAQ'd it to be enemy spells only.
And yes, if there is no other eligible target the spell is wasted.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 17:22:07
Subject: Ogre Rune Maw question
|
 |
Crazed Gorger
Illinois, United States
|
Ah, totally missed it on the FAQ. Makes it much more useful then.
|
-Magless
2000 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/18 04:49:04
Subject: Ogre Rune Maw question
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
rohansoldier wrote:No thats a good point.
I would imagine then if there are no eligible targets then the spell (and the power dice to cast it) are wasted?
Yes. Lets say player A casts fire ball on ogre unit with runemaw. Ogre player makes his 2+ roll. Player A now has to target another unit. If no other unit the spell is ignored.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/18 06:52:03
Subject: Ogre Rune Maw question
|
 |
Gor with Big Horns
Sinnoh
|
cgage00 wrote:rohansoldier wrote:No thats a good point.
I would imagine then if there are no eligible targets then the spell (and the power dice to cast it) are wasted?
Yes. Lets say player A casts fire ball on ogre unit with runemaw. Ogre player makes his 2+ roll. Player A now has to target another unit. If no other unit the spell is ignored.
but it is still successfully cast for attributes and other stuff, it is just not resolved
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|