Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 09:59:48
Subject: Quick Question - Stormraven from reserves
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
|
The question came up yesterday. Is it possible to assault out of a say - stormraven - the turn it comes on the table (hovering of course)?
We played it that you cant ... cause, jeah thought the design intent was to stop assaulting the turn units come on so we played it that way.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 10:01:49
Subject: Quick Question - Stormraven from reserves
|
 |
Shunting Grey Knight Interceptor
Finland
|
No, FAQ.
|
2013 Wins/Losses in Tournaments
Necrons (with various allies ): 9/3 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 10:04:22
Subject: Quick Question - Stormraven from reserves
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
|
Perfect answer. Thanks
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 12:50:14
Subject: Quick Question - Stormraven from reserves
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Hover mode? Thought the StormRaven was too big to fit on the board with just a 6" move..
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 12:59:32
Subject: Quick Question - Stormraven from reserves
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
It is, although many people ignore that.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 13:57:48
Subject: Quick Question - Stormraven from reserves
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I think there is a FAQ or BRB section where it states, if it can't make fully on the board, then place it model flush against the table edge and it cannot move any further or something to that effect.
Edit: Found the relevant info.
Page 124. Arriving from Reserve, second to last para
"If for some reason a model's maximum move is insufficient to fit the entire model onto the board, or it becomes Immobilized itself whilst moving onto the board, place the model so that its rear end is touching the board edge - the model cannot move further during the Movement phase, nor may it shoot, Run or move Flat Out."
You know based on the reading of this, I would say a "hovering" flyer model that is too long or wide to fully enter the table, cannot enter via Hover and must Zoom.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/16 14:06:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 14:03:05
Subject: Quick Question - Stormraven from reserves
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)
|
Wouldn't it be able to make it if it was parallel with the edge it came on from?
|
"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War
"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."
10k
2k
500 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 14:12:28
Subject: Quick Question - Stormraven from reserves
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
Isn't it a blanket rule that you can't assault on the turn you arrive from Reserves though?
Saying that - not sure how it would work with Ongoing Reserves - since technically the unit has already come ontothe tabel once.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 14:30:11
Subject: Quick Question - Stormraven from reserves
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Praxiss wrote:Isn't it a blanket rule that you can't assault on the turn you arrive from Reserves though?
Yes. there is a rule stating that you can not assault the turn you arrive from reserves.
Saying that - not sure how it would work with Ongoing Reserves - since technically the unit has already come ontothe tabel once.
Reserves and Ongoing Reserves are not the same thing.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 19:24:56
Subject: Quick Question - Stormraven from reserves
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
40k-noob wrote:You know based on the reading of this, I would say a "hovering" flyer model that is too long or wide to fully enter the table, cannot enter via Hover and must Zoom.
Correct - although as I said, many people misread that and assume otherwise (or just don't care).
A GumyBear wrote:Wouldn't it be able to make it if it was parallel with the edge it came on from?
No, the flyer is more than 6" across in any dimension that matters. If it could come on the board with the wings perpendicular to the playing field it could work... But it can't.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 19:33:01
Subject: Quick Question - Stormraven from reserves
|
 |
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Surely you would just move the 'Hover' vehicle 12"?
|
If you can keep your head, while all about you are losing their's, then you have probably completely misunderstood the situation!
6,000pts
5,500pts
3,500pts
2,500pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 19:34:59
Subject: Quick Question - Stormraven from reserves
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)
|
But then the models inside couldn't disembark
|
"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War
"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."
10k
2k
500 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 19:37:36
Subject: Quick Question - Stormraven from reserves
|
 |
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Yes, that is true.
|
If you can keep your head, while all about you are losing their's, then you have probably completely misunderstood the situation!
6,000pts
5,500pts
3,500pts
2,500pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 19:51:21
Subject: Re:Quick Question - Stormraven from reserves
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
|
Didnt think about the - longer than 6" -part. So that alone prevents this tactic. As i said we didnt have faqs at hand and assumed it wouldnt be intended to be able to assault.
Jeah didnt make any difference but i wanted to be sure  . Thanks guys.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/17 02:38:38
Subject: Quick Question - Stormraven from reserves
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Correct me if I'm wrong, but don't Stormravens have a special rule allowing disembark if the Stormraven moves more than 6" (Skies of Blood or something like that)?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/17 02:48:58
Subject: Quick Question - Stormraven from reserves
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Happyjew wrote:Correct me if I'm wrong, but don't Stormravens have a special rule allowing disembark if the Stormraven moves more than 6" (Skies of Blood or something like that)?
Yes, but that disallows assaulting as well.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/17 02:55:45
Subject: Quick Question - Stormraven from reserves
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Grey Templar wrote: Happyjew wrote:Correct me if I'm wrong, but don't Stormravens have a special rule allowing disembark if the Stormraven moves more than 6" (Skies of Blood or something like that)?
Yes, but that disallows assaulting as well.
I was asking because people were claiming that if it moved more than 6" to come in from Reserves the models would not be able to disembark (so they can't assault in this situation anyway).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/17 06:20:04
Subject: Quick Question - Stormraven from reserves
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
And i think Skies of Blood only works if the models in question have Jump Packs.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/17 07:20:42
Subject: Quick Question - Stormraven from reserves
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Praxiss wrote:And i think Skies of Blood only works if the models in question have Jump Packs.
No.
Skies of blood can be used on any embarked unit that is on the SR.
Jump Infantry get additional bonuses that regular infantry do not.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/17 17:37:22
Subject: Quick Question - Stormraven from reserves
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
It's a fast skimmer so it would move 12 in the movement phase. However you cannot assault on the turn you arrive from reserves.
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/17 17:53:22
Subject: Quick Question - Stormraven from reserves
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
And embarked models still can not normally Disembark as the vehicle has moved more than 6 inches. (Red Paint Job and other specific exceptions aside). However you cannot assault on the turn you arrive from reserves.
This part is only true if there is not a specific exception to override it. (Which is most of the time).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/17 17:53:49
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/17 22:18:44
Subject: Quick Question - Stormraven from reserves
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Lungpickle wrote:It's a fast skimmer so it would move 12 in the movement phase. However you cannot assault on the turn you arrive from reserves.
All non heavy vehicles move 12" in the movement phase
Being able to disembark is a restriction on ALL transport vehicles, if you want to disembark normally
|
|
 |
 |
|