Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/17 06:15:56
Subject: Fallign back with a mixed fearless and non-fearless unit...
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
This came up in a game last nigth i was hoping the community here coudl advise me if we made the right decision in the end.
Necrons vs BA.
His Death Company charge my unit of 6 Wraiths and a D-Lord.
Thanks to clever chargign and deployment only 2 of his models are affected by whip coild arnd they a packign t-hammer anyway so it makes no difference.
The Death Company wipe out all but 1 Wraith and the D-lord (who has 1 wound left). I kill 5 Death Company in response (stupid FNP). I lose the combat 12 wounds to 5. As the lord is not Fearless I take a Leadership test to fallback and fail - i then fail the Initiative test (shocker) as well.
Here's the issue..
The Wraith is fearless and therefore locked in combat with the remaining Death Company. Even if the Lord is part of the unit he does not get fearless conferred to him....but can the Death Company Sweeping Advance him as they are still locked in combat with the Wraith?
We played it as the Lord successfully falls back whiel the lone Wraith remains locked with the Death Company.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/17 06:38:00
Subject: Fallign back with a mixed fearless and non-fearless unit...
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
BRB, page 35, Fearless. Read it, then rejoice as you realize that it's enough if even one model in the unit has it.
edit: yes, I learned of the change in 6th the hard way too. Worse even as the unit falling back a) was useless all game and b) contained my Warlord.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/17 06:40:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/17 06:39:25
Subject: Fallign back with a mixed fearless and non-fearless unit...
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
Spetulhu wrote:BRB, page 35, Fearless. Read it, then rejoice as you realize that it's enough if even one model in the unit has it.
?!
<runs to the car to get his rulebook>
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/18 04:09:36
Subject: Fallign back with a mixed fearless and non-fearless unit...
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.
|
Praxiss wrote:Spetulhu wrote:BRB, page 35, Fearless. Read it, then rejoice as you realize that it's enough if even one model in the unit has it.
?!
<runs to the car to get his rulebook>
The more important question is the Destroyer lord attached to the Wraiths as a single unit? If so then read Page 35: Fearless. If not then the Wraiths stay in combat ant the Destroyer Lord falls back without pursuers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/18 04:26:38
Subject: Fallign back with a mixed fearless and non-fearless unit...
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
Praxiss wrote:Here's the issue..
The Wraith is fearless and therefore locked in combat with the remaining Death Company. Even if the Lord is part of the unit he does not get fearless conferred to him....but can the Death Company Sweeping Advance him as they are still locked in combat with the Wraith?
We played it as the Lord successfully falls back whiel the lone Wraith remains locked with the Death Company.
That's not right.
Fearless states: "Units containing one or more models..." etc. and so on. Your wraith and Lord should have simply automatically passed the check and stayed in combat.
B. Automatically Appended Next Post: Bausk: From the OP's post, it looks like the D-Lord had joined the Wraiths. This means that he counts as a part of the unit for all rules' purposes, as per page 39, bottom of the left column under the rules for ICs.
IF the two had been separate units (i.e. the Wraiths and the Lord), then it would have bee played correctly.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/18 04:30:55
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/18 04:48:48
Subject: Fallign back with a mixed fearless and non-fearless unit...
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Wraiths and D-lords are nasty on their own, but both the original post and common sense says they were joined. Wraiths also get something out of it making them more than the sum of the parts, as the Lord too has a USR that transfers to the Wraiths.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/18 06:23:30
Subject: Fallign back with a mixed fearless and non-fearless unit...
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.
|
Baktru wrote:
Bausk: From the OP's post, it looks like the D-Lord had joined the Wraiths. This means that he counts as a part of the unit for all rules' purposes, as per page 39, bottom of the left column under the rules for ICs.
IF the two had been separate units (i.e. the Wraiths and the Lord), then it would have bee played correctly.
I gathered that, but sometimes people make mistakes in the delivery of a question. For instance 'My unit of 6 Wraiths and a Destroyer Lord' could easily be two units that were disorderly charged. So I answered both ways to be sure.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/18 06:55:06
Subject: Fallign back with a mixed fearless and non-fearless unit...
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
Bausk: Yup makes sense.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/20 12:33:55
Subject: Fallign back with a mixed fearless and non-fearless unit...
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
Sorry, yes the D-Lord and Wraiths fromed a single unit.
Thanks for clearing this up for me guys.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/20 12:55:51
Subject: Fallign back with a mixed fearless and non-fearless unit...
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Hurry up and get the 6th ed rulebook now
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/20 15:04:20
Subject: Fallign back with a mixed fearless and non-fearless unit...
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
Have a rulebook - not really allowed to have it out at work.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|