Switch Theme:

Is this legal?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




So, what if I were to arrange an Aegis Defense line in such a way that large models couldn't fit over it? Would they be able to assault through it or get across? Obviously if they could get past the line in one turn it'd be fine, but is it possible to prevent big nasties from assaulting by denying their ability to B2B?
I'd post photos, but I'm unsure how, so here's this instead:
(_) - big monster
/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\ - Aegis Line (semi exaggerated)
O O O O - Orks
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

If the Orks were in base contact with the ADL they can be assaulted.

If they were not in Base Contact with the wall, then use WMS to get as close as possible.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Yep, WMS solves all problems like this - You balance the big gribbly on the defence line, say he's now in base to base and then move him temporarily to somewhere where he isn't going to fall over.
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




Cool. This seemed a little odd, so I figured there had to be an explanation.
Now, would it count as difficult terrain to assault over the wall?
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Nope. Check out the line's rules on pages 114, then 104 - its terrain rules don't mention Difficult Terrain anywhere.
Also, it'd be pretty damn tricky to get this to work. As per page 104, the opposing model only has to be in base contact of the wall and 2" of you - wobbly model syndrome included - AND Monstrous Creatures in particular get Move Through Cover.

I can see what you're trying to do, but in practice it just isn't going to be effective. It also smacks of trying to be TFG (to me, at least).

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Super Ready wrote:
Nope. Check out the line's rules on pages 114, then 104 - its terrain rules don't mention Difficult Terrain anywhere.

That is not true at all.

"Unless otherwise noted, battlefield debris is difficult terrain," P. 104

The ADL is Battlefield Debris.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in no
Dakka Veteran




Its also included in the "charging through cover" in the assault rules, however you cant "block" anyone from charging you by putting your models in a way that they are not in base contact with the ADL and they can put a model between, in a sense you are in base contact with the ADL for all purposes of assault in this situation and gain no benefit, except for half an inch longer distance they have to charge.

Sounds like a TFG type of tactic to be quite honest, and you wouldnt make many friends trying.

 
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




First off, I don't understand how you would be in BTB 'in a sense' if there's enough space between you and the Aegis line to fit a model between...
Second, I was more checking because of a guy I know who consistently places his models so that they can't be assaulted. (Or he tries to, it rarely works.) I wanted to know the official ruling so there'd be no confusion on this or similar stuff.
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Oops...so it IS on page 104. My bad!

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Simpler put pick up the line where the fights going on then put it back when it's clear. Easy sauce .

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Waaaghpower wrote:
First off, I don't understand how you would be in BTB 'in a sense' if there's enough space between you and the Aegis line to fit a model between...
Second, I was more checking because of a guy I know who consistently places his models so that they can't be assaulted. (Or he tries to, it rarely works.) I wanted to know the official ruling so there'd be no confusion on this or similar stuff.


Because the rule says so in this case. See page 104. If you can cross the line then use the Wobbly model rule. If units that are both touching the ADL and withing 2" of it are considered B2b, page 104 kicking in.
   
Made in rs
Fresh-Faced New User




Ofc its legal and you can avoid being charged witl MC if it cant be placed normally.

So you got dreadknight on one side and orcks more then 2 inches away from ADL (2.2 inces) then he cant assaut couse he can stand on ADL.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Apart from WMS, which states you can.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




RatGod wrote:
Ofc its legal and you can avoid being charged witl MC if it cant be placed normally.

So you got dreadknight on one side and orcks more then 2 inches away from ADL (2.2 inces) then he cant assaut couse he can stand on ADL.


Nothing in the rules prevents a model from standing on terrain. The ADL is terrain.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Huntingdon, UK

I'm pretty sure that most MCs or Walkers would punt that section of the ADL into the enemy, an improvised missile. At a minimum they would crush it like a beer can, or huff and puff and blow the ADL down.
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Ohio, USA

 Crabpuff wrote:
I'm pretty sure that most MCs or Walkers would punt that section of the ADL into the enemy, an improvised missile. At a minimum they would crush it like a beer can, or huff and puff and blow the ADL down.
More importantly, however, nothing in the rules gives you permission to move those ADL sections. I get that you were likely joking, but some might not. Beware, Poe's Law strikes without warning

The 6th ed fortifications rules are sadly incomplete, or at least less complete that many would like

Happily, this is not an issue here. We have all the rules we need to resolve this situation. As stated above - WMS and Battlefield Debris cover the basic question.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/22 21:42:21


"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." 
   
Made in rs
Fresh-Faced New User





Nothing in the rules prevents a model from standing on terrain. The ADL is terrain.


Mate if you cant physically place model it cant be there, thats all im saying, and no MC base can stand on ADL. Same goes for edge of GW hill if it cant stand its not possible to place it there couse as i see game you have to place model to stand on its base not to float or lay down
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Yeah, you should check out the WMS rules. You might be surprised...

Edit: Also, I've balanced a Carnifex on an ADL. So you're statement is incorrect.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/23 16:36:07


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Wobbly model rules in the BRB says you can. Also I have balanced many many MC on top of an adl.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

cryhavok wrote:
Wobbly model rules in the BRB says you can. Also I have balanced many many MC on top of an adl.

Not that you need to balance the model to invoke the WMS rule.

"Sometimes you may find that a particular piece of terrain makes it hard to put a model exactly where you want. If you delicately balance it in place, it is very likely to fall I as soon as somebody nudges the table, leaving your beautifully painted miniature damaged or even broken. In cases like this, we find it is perfectly acceptable to leave the model in a safer position, as long as both players have agreed and know its 'actual' location" P. 11

This rule says that if "a particular piece of terrain makes it hard to put a model exactly where you want" then "it is perfectly acceptable to leave the model in a safer position, as long as both players have agreed and know its 'actual' location"

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: