Switch Theme:

Chariots: difficult terrain & being wrecked before rider strikes in combat  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






Say a chariot assaults into terrain and passes its dangerous terrain test, does the passenger count as charging through terrain and strike at I1?

If so, if the target unit then destroys the chariot before the passenger strikes blows, does combat end? Chariots (and their rider) aren't considered locked in combat at any time, but the rider is considered in b2b with all enemies touching the chariot. Do I just disembark the rider away from the combat or into combat? Does the rider still strike?


Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Shandara wrote:
Say a chariot assaults into terrain and passes its dangerous terrain test, does the passenger count as charging through terrain and strike at I1?


Did at least one model in the charging unit moved through difficult terrain as part of its charge move?

Is the rider a part of the chariots unit?

If so then yes the rider strikes at Initiative 1

If so, if the target unit then destroys the chariot before the passenger strikes blows, does combat end? Chariots (and their rider) aren't considered locked in combat at any time, but the rider is considered in b2b with all enemies touching the chariot. Do I just disembark the rider away from the combat or into combat? Does the rider still strike?


Are there rules for separating the rider from the chariot?

If not then the rider is removed along with the chariot before he can strike.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




The rider is never exactly in cc with the enemy unit. He can make and receive attacks and that's about it. So his I doesn't drop to 1 if the chariot charges through DT and if the chariot explodes before the rider makes his CC attacks then he just disembarks out of combat.
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






EDIT: ninja'ed above.

I should've been more specific in this case.

A Herald of Khorne on a Blood Throne is not part of the Chariot's unit, but both move through difficult terrain. Do embarked units count as moving through difficult terrain when their transport charges through the terrain?

Neither the transport rules nor the vehicle rules say so.

The heralds may disembark when their blood throne is destroyed.

So to answer my own questions, which I should've done in the original post:
* No he does not strike at I1 since the transport moves through terrain and the passengers are not on the table.
* He leaves combat (since he disembarks and was not locked in combat) if his chariot is destroyed before he strikes

My question should've been:
Are there any arguments against this?

It really feels like the chariot rules aren't up to scratch when it comes to this.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/19 22:39:18


Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





No there are no rules to govern this it also has a very large chance of the Character auto-dying as the chariot will most likely get surrounded in CC and therefore he won't be able to be placed. Personally I think the intention is for the Character to then be locked in combat with the unit. Though this is just as it is the most intuitive resolution of the issue rather than based on any solid rules.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





There is precedent for units being affected while embarked.

- Passengers counting as having moved, when the transport moves a certain distance.

- Passengers are affected by stunned/shaken results.

But I agree chariot rules are atrocious. Poorly written and not well thought out.
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





I second (third?) the general sentiment that the chariot rules are really poorly written and could have been accomplished much more elegantly and cleanly.

I suspect they gave it a trial run with the 5th edition necron version of same, but forgot to actually account for the numerous corner-case issues when they added it to the 6th BRB.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/20 02:21:28


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: