Switch Theme:

GK Summon after Deepstriking  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon






Am i allowed to cast summon with a Scriptor immediately after deepstriking?

Codex entry says "at the start of the models movement phase". BRB disallows using stuff that is done on the start of your turn when entering from reserves.

Start of the movement phase isnt start of the turn. Isnt it?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/21 09:26:14


 
   
Made in au
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation



Perth, Western Australia

Start of the Movement phase would be before any movement, including Deep Striking units.
   
Made in de
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon






Dra'al Nacht wrote:
Start of the Movement phase would be before any movement, including Deep Striking units.


Okay this kind of diminishes its use. Thanks.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Start of the movement phase is, by definition ,the start of the turn. The turn is split into 3 phases....
   
Made in gb
Ian Pickstock




Nottingham

Aren't you allowed to do things at the start of a turn in whatever order you like? I'm sure I've read of psykers casting powers after arriving from reserve.

Naaa na na na-na-na-naaa.

Na-na-na-naaaaa.

Hey Jude. 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Page 125 of the main rulebook explains why.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





I have to ask: What is a 'Scriptor' (and for that matter, a 'Summon') within the context of the grey knights? You've pretty much lost me there.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/22 02:44:24


 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

I think its Librarian once its been mangled though translation. Summon obviously means the Summoning power.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Ah, yeah I suppose that makes sense.

In that light: No your librarian does not have a warp charge yet (as they were not yet in play at the start of the turn, given your scenario) during the time-frame in which you could cast the summoning right after arriving from reserves.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/05/22 04:37:20


 
   
Made in de
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon






 Neorealist wrote:
I have to ask: What is a 'Scriptor' (and for that matter, a 'Summon') within the context of the grey knights? You've pretty much lost me there.


They are called "Scriptor" in german ... dont ask me why since the proper german translation of "librarian" would be "Bibliothekar". Scriptor isnt even a german word
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 BryllCream wrote:
Aren't you allowed to do things at the start of a turn in whatever order you like? I'm sure I've read of psykers casting powers after arriving from reserve.

Psykers already on the board can cast ona a newly arrived unit, but casting blessings/Maledictions when you come on from Reserves is expressly forbidden.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker





New Jersey

 Neorealist wrote:
Ah, yeah I suppose that makes sense.

In that light: No your librarian does not have a warp charge yet (as they were not yet in play at the start of the turn, given your scenario) during the time-frame in which you could cast the summoning right after arriving from reserves.


This is wrong. A psyker generates charges at the start of the turn, it doesn't matter where he is. He' still in your army and your turn has started.

You are disallowed to cast blessing and maledictions.

If they librarian is already on the field he can cast summoning, if he arrived from reserves he cannot.
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Interesting, I'd thought that there was a general prohibition against using abilities of any kind while a unit is in reserves unless an exemption was given for that ability. It appears I was incorrect, in this instance anyway.
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

You can't use any of your abilities, but you still get your warp charges. If you deep strike out of a drop pod, say, you can still fire off a psychic shooting attack, provided you meet the other prereq's. Start of the movement phase abilities are out, though, since you started your movement phase off the table.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: