Switch Theme:

Staff of the destroyer  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Psychic Prisoner aboard a Black Ship




Can some one please tell me in detail how the Staff of the destroyer will damage models. We had some problems with our last match.

Also can you use it in the assault and if so when can you use it.

 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

All these questions should be covered in the relevant codex, YMDC is not a replacement for a book.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in us
Psychic Prisoner aboard a Black Ship




We have the codex, we just didn't understand the wording. one person thought it effected the whole unit and another thought it would just hit the troops under the line.

 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Is it profiled like a weapon? Does it say unit or model?
   
Made in us
Psychic Prisoner aboard a Black Ship




Any unit, friendly or enemy, under this line takes a number of hits equal to the number of models in the unit under the line.

I don't play the Necrons so I am not sure how it would work. Its from Imhotep the storm lord.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/23 06:49:15


 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






This seems pretty clear to me. Does it have a range or is it a close combat weapon? does it say when to use it? Is it an assault weapon? The answers should be found in the profile.
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One




Thehatter707 wrote:
We have the codex, we just didn't understand the wording. one person thought it effected the whole unit and another thought it would just hit the troops under the line.


The unit takes hits based on however many models were covered by the line.
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Ohio, USA

Count the number of models under the line - even just partially. The Unit takes that many hits.

The complicated wording is there because it is possible for models from more than one unit to be under the line. If that happens, count the number of models from the first unit under the line. The first unit unit takes that many hits. Then count the number of models from the second unit under the line. The second unit unit takes that many hits. And so on.

"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





It works pretty much exactly like the death ray from the doom scythe, only Imotekh is always the first point you use.

Step 1: Start = anywhere on Imotekh's base.
Step 2: Roll to see length of the beam
Step 3: Pick another point within that rolled length away from Imotekh
Step 4: Count the number of models underneath a 2mm-wide line drawn from Imotekh to that second point. Pay attention to which unit(s) (if there is more than one) the line is passing over.
Step 5: Cause X hits, (where X is equal to the number of models found under the line in a given unit) to those unit(s) which were hit.

you only allocate a number of hits equal to the number of models which were under the line 'and' a part of the unit. So if the line passes over 1 model from unit A, and 2 models from unit B for example; you'd assign only one hit to unit A and 2 hits to unit B.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/05/23 17:32:15


 
   
Made in us
Psychic Prisoner aboard a Black Ship




Its an assault 1, one use weapon, So can it be used in CC?

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





It's a shooting weapon. Can you shoot while in CC?
Does it have a Melee profile?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Thehatter707 wrote:
Its an assault 1, one use weapon, So can it be used in CC?

What is the requirement, clearly written in the 6th edition rulebook, for a weapon to be used in close combat?

Hint: Look up the "Melee" rule.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Also look up page 150 under the heading 'Type'.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: