Switch Theme:

How does veil of darkness interact with interceptor ?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller





This has come up a few times when playing with veils . The basic problem is in the deep-strike rules .The deep strike rules only makes mention of arriving from reserves not using deepstrike for movement. I know there are a few units out there that have re-deepstrike rules( veil,mawlock,gate...ect) but i havent really seen anything that is helpful.

 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





A unit using veil of darkness (and it's unique variant) are not (typically) coming from reserves, they just refer to the deepstrike rules on how to be placed back on the table.

There is permission to use a veil when coming in from a table edge for normal deployment from reserves though, so it may be possible (with the right range and LOS) to shoot at a unit deploying in this fashion.

in short: Veil of Darkness does not interact with Interceptor much at all; but may occasionally be used to deploy a unit from reserves which works with interceptor normally.
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

Interceptor refers to arriving from reserve. If the unit was on the table at the start of the movement phase then it didn't arrive from reserve, therefore, interceptor has no effect.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






If a unit is coming back onto the table from Ongoing Reserves, units with Interceptor can fire at them. If they're redeploying via Viel or Gate, they are not (to my knowledge) coming onto the table via Reserves/Ongoing Reserves.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

I have to concur, it is clearly not the intention of interceptor to allow you to fire at deepstriking units simply because they are deepstriking. The limitation is to be found within the interceptor special rule and clearly tells you when you can and can not use it. Within the interceptor special rule it clearly states that the unit has to be coming in from reserves for them to be a legal target. If the unit is not coming in from reserve, then it can not be shot at with interceptor, as simple as that.

However I do see your concern as deepstrike has the word 'reserves' through out it which could lead to the argument that they are moving into reserve simply to support the limitations found in the deepstrike rule that state the unit must come in from reserve.

To answer your concern completely I would need to look at the wording in the powers/abilities to see exactly what they say. I don't know them off the top of my head and do not have access to the correct codex's, so I can not be certain as to what they say. If these abilities do not mention putting the unit into reserve before deepstriking then you have your answer. I am 99.89% certain that you will find this to be the case, that the power is written in a way to remove the deepstrike limitation of 'must come from reserve.' It likely states something along the kin 'placed on the table as if they had deepstriked.'

This would bypass the limitation completely, as you are not technically deepstriking but simply placing the models as if you had done so.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/24 00:07:48


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: