Switch Theme:

A few DA questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine





Philadelphia

Standard of Devastation:

I thought that if a SoD was embarked on a Land Raider Crusader, if the tank moved, the Salvo 2 profile would be used, halving shots and range. But the GW employee at the shop i was playing in the other day informed me I wasn't taking enough shots and that I get Salvo 4 even when moving 6".....what?! I mean I'll take it if he's correct but it doesn't make any sense.

Rhinos and Combat Squads:

I just got a bunch of Rhinos and would like to use them like so: Split a 10 man tac squad into 2 of 5. 5 marines in each Rhino with Plasmagun, 5 marines with bolters sitting on my home objectives with a SoD. Can I start with the PG squads mounted? Or do the Rhinos have to deploy next to them and have them embark my Turn1?

Thanks!

Rule #1 is Look Cool.  
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

About the land raider : all vehicles have the relentless rule, allowing them to shoot as if they had remained immobile. So you could choose which profil you'd use (and logically use the 4 shots)
About the squads. Yes you may have them embarked.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

1) Standard of Devastation: If the banner moves and it is inside of a Land Raider, which has no fire points, then the transported unit may not fire at all. Any other unit, that has not moved (Or has moved but has relentless, etc...) but is within range of the banner will shoot at Salvo 4.

2) If you buy a DT for a unit, then split the unit into combat squads, then both units can ride in that units transport if there is room to do so.

A DT may only carry the unit it was bought for, or be deployed empty at the start of the game.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

Deathreaper Isn't the OP asking about the effects of the standard on the land raider itself?
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine





Philadelphia

@B0B MaRlEy, yes I was referring to the land raider itself.

Rule #1 is Look Cool.  
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

then you have 2 complete answers, mine's on the 2nd page about vehicles in the main rulebook, and reaper's refering to the various marines FAQs
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Which, given it is a vwehicle, and has Relentless, has already been answered
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine





Philadelphia

Thanks all! Exaltation for everybody

Rule #1 is Look Cool.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






 B0B MaRlEy wrote:
Deathreaper Isn't the OP asking about the effects of the standard on the land raider itself?


He addressed it well. The embarked unit will not be able to fire as the land raider has no fire points. The land raider is a unit in range of the SoD and is relentless so it will fire salvo 4. Its the same answer you gave he is just clarifying that the embarked unit can't fire.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: