Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/28 16:22:02
Subject: 2 simple rule queries
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I charge a unit, there is no way to pile in without engaging another unit.
Do both units get to overwatch my charging unit?
A IC is with a squad. The squad gets shot and takes casualties. The IC is no longer in coherency, can he be shot as a seprerate unit now (aka is it considered that he left the squad)?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/28 16:25:22
Subject: 2 simple rule queries
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
1. Units only get to fire Ovetwatch if they are charged (or have a special rule such as Tau).
2. The IC is still part of the unit until they are all killed or the IC voluntarily leaves in the Movement phase.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/28 16:29:12
Subject: 2 simple rule queries
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
South Chicago burbs
|
If you declare a charge against a single unit, only that unit gets to fire overwatch. (Exception for Tau)
In addition to that, if you declared a charge against a single unit, you may not charge a second unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/28 16:30:17
Subject: 2 simple rule queries
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
If you must announce a disorganized Charge, due to some rather odd model placements, then yes, both units get Overwatch (assuming they have not already used Overwatch this turn)
You cannot somehow accidentally Charge a 2nd unit when you did not declare a disorganized charge. The rules for assault moves prohibit it.
Read the IC rules in the BRB for exactly how/when an IC can leave unit.
Hint: it's not in the opponent's shooting phase
|
"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/28 16:50:32
Subject: 2 simple rule queries
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
To clarify, there were 2 units mingled with eachother. If I charge one unit, by rules of piling in I would have to get as many models as possible into base contact. This would invariably make me touch the other models.
Therefore I have to declare a disordereded charge? Or can I charge just 1 unit, and simply avoid going within 1 of models in the other unit (this would mean I couldnt pile in properly, possible only getting the initial charger into base contact)?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/28 16:52:46
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/28 17:09:32
Subject: 2 simple rule queries
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
roma wrote:To clarify, there were 2 units mingled with eachother. If I charge one unit, by rules of piling in I would have to get as many models as possible into base contact. This would invariably make me touch the other models.
Therefore I have to declare a disordereded charge? Or can I charge just 1 unit, and simply avoid going within 1 of models in the other unit (this would mean I couldnt pile in properly, possible only getting the initial charger into base contact)?
You would have a choice.
A) Regular charge, but fewer models get in B2B. I would image about the same amount would participate in CC. The 2" rule allows for quite a few to get into CC even without B2B
B) Declare a disorganized charge and get more models into B2B.
You can always "pile in properly", just follow the Assault movement rules.
|
"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/28 17:16:39
Subject: 2 simple rule queries
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
thanks
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/29 08:08:25
Subject: 2 simple rule queries
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.
|
roma wrote:I charge a unit, there is no way to pile in without engaging another unit.
Do both units get to overwatch my charging unit?
A IC is with a squad. The squad gets shot and takes casualties. The IC is no longer in coherency, can he be shot as a seprerate unit now (aka is it considered that he left the squad)?
First, if you charged one unit you may only pile in to that one unit following the rules for fighting in assaults, even if only one model from your unit piles in to BTB with one of theirs but is with in but not touching the unengaged second unit then thats fine. The rest of your unit will have to pile in following the steps after the pile in move for BTB. If you cannot pile in at all and your opponent can't reach you with their pile in then the combat is finished.
In the case of an IC attached to a unit, it remains apart of that unit for better or worse unless the IC leaves it in the movement phase. In all other phases it is apart of that unit it joined. If its out of cohenency from your shooting and you declare a charge against the unit its with, the IC is a valid model to charge as it is still apart of that unit just as much as any other model in the unit. Automatically Appended Next Post: roma wrote:To clarify, there were 2 units mingled with eachother. If I charge one unit, by rules of piling in I would have to get as many models as possible into base contact. This would invariably make me touch the other models.
Therefore I have to declare a disordereded charge? Or can I charge just 1 unit, and simply avoid going within 1 of models in the other unit (this would mean I couldnt pile in properly, possible only getting the initial charger into base contact)?
You can move within 1" of the other unit, just not BTB or over any models base.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/29 08:09:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/29 08:35:13
Subject: 2 simple rule queries
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Bausk - please be clear when talking about pile in; pile in is what you do at each I step and at the end of combat, if combat contiues. The initial move into combat is an assault move. They have different criteria
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/29 13:24:21
Subject: 2 simple rule queries
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Bausk - please be clear when talking about pile in; pile in is what you do at each I step and at the end of combat, if combat contiues. The initial move into combat is an assault move. They have different criteria
The OPs original post mentioned pile in. I was being purposly vague on the pile in rules as this forum is not a substitute for owning the book, the steps for using a pile in move are rather straight forward I didnt feel the need to elaborate on them here.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/29 15:08:33
Subject: 2 simple rule queries
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I was just trying to draw the distinction between the two, as the OP didnt seem aware.
|
|
 |
 |
|