Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/29 19:39:57
Subject: Drop Pods on Turn 1?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Was watching a buddy of mine play against vanilla Marines last night. The SM player had 1 troop on the field and 6 drop pods in reserved, of which he brought all of them in on turn 1 (rolling 3+ on all 6).
I was busy with my own game so didn't get involved; however, this just didn't seem right to me which is why I'm asking.
1. Are drop pods like Fliers in that they don't count towards the up to 50% of your units may be kept in reserve?
2. Can drop pods come in from reserve and deep strike in on turn 1?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/29 19:41:19
Subject: Drop Pods on Turn 1?
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
They don't count towards the 50% but have there own rules. and can DS on turn 1 however, only half can come in turn one automatically. the rest as normal on turn 2 Edit for corrections. Edit2: look up Drop pod assault, otherwise known as STEEL REHN
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/05/29 19:45:19
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/29 19:42:58
Subject: Drop Pods on Turn 1?
|
 |
Kelne
|
SM drop pods have a special rule allowing HALF of them to automatically show up on turn 1. The other half has to follow the normal reserve rolls rule (so from turn 2 onward).
Having to be kept in reserve they don't count in the 50%.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/29 19:44:28
Subject: Drop Pods on Turn 1?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
B0B MaRlEy wrote:SM drop pods have a special rule allowing HALF of them to automatically show up on turn 1. The other half has to follow the normal reserve rolls rule (so from turn 2 onward).
Having to be kept in reserve they don't count in the 50%.
Technically it is all DPs, but...not relevant in the topic on hand.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/29 19:46:50
Subject: Drop Pods on Turn 1?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
B0B MaRlEy wrote:SM drop pods have a special rule allowing HALF of them to automatically show up on turn 1. The other half has to follow the normal reserve rolls rule (so from turn 2 onward).
Having to be kept in reserve they don't count in the 50%.
Ok so to make sure I understand. In the original scenario, technically the SM player made a favorable mistake in deploying all 6 instead of just 3 drop pods on his first turn. The deployed 3 would also come on automatically as well; no need to roll.
Correct?
Also, is this for drop pods in general or only pods with TAC squads in them (i.e. dreadnaughts housed in drop pods can drop like this as well)?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/29 19:48:35
Subject: Drop Pods on Turn 1?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
If he had only 6 drop pods, then he can only bring in 3 on turn 1. Automatically, no need to roll. The remaining are in reserve and are rolled for as other reserves. This is any drop pod, whether it contains tactical squads, dreadnoughts, thunderfire cannons, sternguard squads, or is empty.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/29 19:49:43
DA:70S+G+M+B++I++Pw40k08+D++A++/fWD-R+T(M)DM+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/29 19:49:06
Subject: Drop Pods on Turn 1?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Unholyllama wrote:1. Are drop pods like Fliers in that they don't count towards the up to 50% of your units may be kept in reserve?
Yes, Drop Pods have to start the game in reserve, so don't count towards your 50% limit.
2. Can drop pods come in from reserve and deep strike in on turn 1?
Half of the pods come in on turn one. The remainder follow the normal Reserves rules.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/29 19:50:56
Subject: Drop Pods on Turn 1?
|
 |
Kelne
|
Nope, If there were 6 drop pods in his army, he'd have 3 on turn 1 (automatically) and the 3 others are regular reserves (3+ for turn 2, ....). He (marine player) picks which 3 deep strike (no matter the contents). on turn 1, and the last 3 would come later.
|
|
 |
 |
|