Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/30 03:08:57
Subject: Target Locks and Declaring a charge target
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Let's say you have a lone crisis suit with say Fusion/Fusion and a Target Lock. It is on it's own, no drones or any squad attached. Can you, in the shooting phase, declare say Rhino 1 as your (primary) target, then declare that you are using the Target Lock to split your fire onto Rhino 2, shooting it with both fusion guns. Then, in the assault phase, legally charge Rhino 1 as it was your primary shooting target? (even though you did not actually shoot at it with anything) I'm leaning towards no at the moment, as the BRB indicates you can only charge something you shot at (am at work, cannot check exact wording right now).
On a somewhat related note, what if you have say a unit of two crisis suits with target locks. Again target declared on Rhino 1, and one suit shoots at it. The other shoots at Rhino 2. In the assault phase, can you legally decide to charge EITHER Rhino? This question wasn't even something I considered until I checked the BRB for the answer to my first question, where it specifies that you can only declare a charge on a target you shot at, it didn't actually differentiate between a primary target and secondary targets. In this instance, you shot at both targets, so both are valid to declare charges on? (I know you could simply multicharge, but let's assume you only want to charge one Rhino) For this, I am leaning towards yes.
Thoughts?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 0001/05/30 03:12:58
Subject: Target Locks and Declaring a charge target
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
|
I have to admit I have never seen anything about only charging something you have shot at.
The assault phase is a different phase to shooting completely.
Be interesting to see if there is such a rule. post it when you fined it.
|
Latest Blog Post: 7th edition first thoughts and pictures.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/30 03:22:48
Subject: Target Locks and Declaring a charge target
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Yeah ordinarily the rules are quite clear, you can't shoot one target but charge something else, the target you shot must be charged. (though of course you can multicharge secondary targets) It's Target Locks (and split fire USR i suppose) that introduced this new line of thinking to me yesterday
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/30 03:24:27
Subject: Target Locks and Declaring a charge target
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
For the first question, rhino one would not be a valid charge target. Declaring it as a target isn't the same as shooting at it.
For the second, yes, either vehicle would be a valid charge target.
cerbrus2, the assault rules specify that if a unit shot in the shooting phase, it can only assault if the unit it shot at is the primary target.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/30 03:54:28
Subject: Target Locks and Declaring a charge target
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
We had a similar question some time ago, where someone wondered if a unit with Split Fire and only one ranged weapon could declare a target to shoot, split fire on something else and then charge the first target.
One thing that came up there was whether you actually had to fire anything at your target. Far as we could see nothing required this, but you do need a weapon with LOS and range in order to choose a unit as a target. I'd certainly call shenanigans on shooting all your weapons at one target and then trying to charge something you never even pointed a gun at, even if only to decide not to fire.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/30 10:32:36
Subject: Target Locks and Declaring a charge target
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You have to chose your target then multi trackers kick in and says you can fire at another target, at this point you can declare a secondary target. You can only charge your first target iirc Just checked and it does say unit can only charge what it fired at, as mutli trackers is done on a model by model basis the target for the unit (which would be the first rhino) is the only valid option to charge. Thats with a unit with more then one model, if its a single model then it can charge either rhino.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/30 10:35:01
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/30 10:40:44
Subject: Target Locks and Declaring a charge target
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Except you never fired at the first target, only the second one
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/30 14:05:56
Subject: Target Locks and Declaring a charge target
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I am not sure you can use Target Lock in this case.
The rule says: you can shoot at a different target than the rest of his unit.
By definition, a single model unit can never make use of target lock.
It can't fire at a different target than itself.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/30 16:59:56
Subject: Target Locks and Declaring a charge target
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
insaniak wrote:For the second, yes, either vehicle would be a valid charge target.
Except that the "unit" shot at Rhino 1 and that is the only one they can legally charge.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 0500/05/30 17:07:35
Subject: Target Locks and Declaring a charge target
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
helotaxi wrote: insaniak wrote:For the second, yes, either vehicle would be a valid charge target.
Except that the "unit" shot at Rhino 1 and that is the only one they can legally charge.
Insaniak's answer relates to the second question in the OP, where there are 2 suits shooting at a Rhino each.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/30 18:05:49
Subject: Target Locks and Declaring a charge target
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Quanar wrote:helotaxi wrote: insaniak wrote:For the second, yes, either vehicle would be a valid charge target.
Except that the "unit" shot at Rhino 1 and that is the only one they can legally charge.
Insaniak's answer relates to the second question in the OP, where there are 2 suits shooting at a Rhino each.
I have to disagree.
The "unit" shoots at Rhino X and ONE model in the "unit" can shoot at a different target because of Target Lock.
The "unit" however shot at Rhino X and can only charge Rhino X regardless of what the "Target Lock" equipped model shot at.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/30 21:07:47
Subject: Target Locks and Declaring a charge target
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
Reading the rules carefully, it says that you can only charge "the unit it targeted during that turn's Shooting phase."
Huh,this might actually work...
Except I'm not sure target lock can function if there's only one model. You literally cannot shoot at a "different target to the rest of the unit." Your entire unit has fired at the same target.
In conclusion: ow, my brain. There might be weasel room for it, depending on how you interpret target lock. I would call shenanigans, but I won't call cheese. It would actually be an interesting, even appropriate, use of a high tech targeting device. Just talk it over with your opponent before the game. If you're down to single models on the table, chances are it's a make or break moment. Definitely not the time to bring something like this up.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/30 21:31:32
Subject: Target Locks and Declaring a charge target
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
There is no requirement to actually fire at the targeted unit, nor is there any ability to charge units fired at but not the unit's target.
However, I don't see any way to choose a primary target without at least having the ability to fire at it. If no models are firing at it, or the "rest of the unit" has no ranged weapons (the usual case in previous discussions), you will fail to check range and be forced to pick another primary target.
|
|
 |
 |
|