Switch Theme:

vector strike  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Adolescent Youth on Ultramar




If a flyer or MC has only one weapon like the hell drake. How can it make a vector strike on its movement and then attack with the same weapon in the shooting phase? When the last paragraph of vector strike says it counts as that weapon being fired. Could someone clear up my confusion. Thanks

 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

The Vector Strike doesn't use the Baleflamer or Autocannon to work. All that line means is that the model can fire one less weapon in the shooting phase than normally allowed. For FMCs, this means they only get one weapon. For a Heldrake, that's "only" 3 weapons, which is inconsequential, as a Heldrake only has a single weapon.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

klinticuss wrote:
When the last paragraph of vector strike says it counts as that weapon being fired.

That's not what the rule says.
It counts as firing a weapon.
The Heldrake is allowed to fire 4 weapons at combat/cruising speed.
Vector Strike is one, Baleflamer is two. Other two are wasted.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Exactly.

P1. A model which Vector Strikes counts as having fired a weapon in the following shooting phase, for number of weapons allowed to be fired.
P2. A Zooming flyer is allowed to fire up to 4 weapons.
P3. A Monstrous Creature is allowed to fire up to 2 weapons.
C1. An FMC which Vector Strikes will still be able to fire 1 weapon.
C2. A Zooming Flyer which Vector Strikes will still be able to fire up to 3 weapons.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

I understand the wording can make it sound ambiguous but the deciding factor for me was it's implementation. An FMC like a Winged Hive Tyrant, without being equipped with any ranged weapons, can make a vector strike and count as having fired one weapon. Is it equipped with a weapon that counts as having been fired? No. So it counts as having fired one weapon but not with a weapon it is equipped with. If that makes any sense lol.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/03 05:29:29


-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Yes it's confusing if its over thought. Just because its not equipped with a weapon doesn't mean you cannot vector strike.

Just means you would loose one weapon if you had any.

Vector strike away.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Though I realise it's not technically correct, the best way to get your head around it is to think of Vector Strike as another weapon the model gets by virtue of having the rule.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

Lungpickle wrote:
Yes it's confusing if its over thought. Just because its not equipped with a weapon doesn't mean you cannot vector strike.

Just means you would loose one weapon if you had any.

Vector strike away.


This would be a misapplication of the rule unfairly applying it differently to different units without proper cause.

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Well, except for the cause stating you count as having fired a weapon if you vector strike. If you dont have a weapon, you may still vector strike

Or are you saying it is unfair that genestealers can run, despite not being able to shoot?
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Well, except for the cause stating you count as having fired a weapon if you vector strike. If you dont have a weapon, you may still vector strike

Or are you saying it is unfair that genestealers can run, despite not being able to shoot?


I was simply promoting a reading that effects units in the same manor across the board. Genstealers can run instead of shooting regardless of the fact that shooting is not an option for them because the rules for running effect them the same way as they effect other units. Those rules are clear though that running is done instead of shooting.

In this case all units that make a vector strike count as having fired one weapon during the following shooting phase. There's a couple different valid ways to take the rule as it is stated but one way is RAW problematic IMO and the other is not.

If a unit has three ranged weapons how would you determine which weapon it counted as having fired? I doesn't say to determine randomly or to allow a player to decide.In a permissive rule set you wouldn't do it because there are no rules for it and so no way of proceeding. The rule does not tell you to determine a weapon that fired at all, it does not even say counts as having fired one of it's weapons. Only that it counts as having fired a weapon. So unless you want to bring Schrodingers cat into the shooting phase it can only be determined that it counts as having fired an undermined weapon which may or may not be listed anywhere and has no properties or rules for use.

I pose that it makes more sense to determine (of the different ways this rule can be read) that what is meant is that the unit simply counts as having fired a weapon without regard for any weapons it may have equipped. As opposed to a reading that says it counts as having fired one of it's equipped weapons which would lead you far outside RAW in many cases trying to determine which one it counts as having fired with.


-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





... How is that different from what Nos has said?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

Did it sound like I meant to disagree with him on something?

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in us
Brainy Zoanthrope





Abandon:

It counts as having fired a weapon indeed.

Next shooting phase, this just means it can fire one less weapon than usual, i.e. my beloved flyrant can now shoot only once in the Shooting Phase. With which weapon doesn't matter. Even if he doesn't actually ranged weapons, it still works. I don't see where the problem is here.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, all the rule means is that you can fire one less weapon in the shooting phase - it does NOT mean that you have actually fired one of your weapons.

There is, RAW, no possible way to read the sentence such that you end up having lost the ability to fire one specific weapon
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: