Switch Theme:

Necron Night Scythe & Reserve?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Furious Raptor




Melbourne Australia

BRB Pg 124. ' Players can choose not to deploy up to half of their units(rounding up, keeping them as reserve .... Units that must start in reserve are ignored for the purpose of working out how many other units may do so.'

Okay. It says that player CANT reserve more than half of their army.

What if i play necrons and I decided to put everything in night scythe

which are Flyer.

BRB, Pg 80. Aerial Support : Flyer Must Begin The game as reserve.

It seems to be a contradiction here?

The way I interpret it. RAW seems to suggest that I can not field anything at all in turn 1 and everything comes in on turn 2 and at the same time, it is contradicting itself?

Is there a FAQ on this that I missed?

Help me out guys. Appreciate it. Thanks.

FOR THE DARK GODS
Word Bearers 6000 Points
 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

No, as it says units that must start in reserve don't count. It's as if they don't exist when you're working out how many you are allowed to put in reserve. There was a FAQ that extended that to every model embarked in something that must start in reserve as well. It already applied to models embarked in Dedicated Transports, but the FAQ makes it clear that IC's and other units in non-dedicated transports work as well.

So if you decided to embark everything in Night Scythes, everything must start in reserves so you start turn 1 with no models on the table. At the end of turn 1 you then automatically lose because you have no models on the table. So while you can do it, you probably shouldn't.
   
Made in au
Furious Raptor




Melbourne Australia

Chrysis wrote:
No, as it says units that must start in reserve don't count. It's as if they don't exist when you're working out how many you are allowed to put in reserve. There was a FAQ that extended that to every model embarked in something that must start in reserve as well. It already applied to models embarked in Dedicated Transports, but the FAQ makes it clear that IC's and other units in non-dedicated transports work as well.

So if you decided to embark everything in Night Scythes, everything must start in reserves so you start turn 1 with no models on the table. At the end of turn 1 you then automatically lose because you have no models on the table. So while you can do it, you probably shouldn't.


Are you saying that. By doing that I just tabeld myself? LOL.

FOR THE DARK GODS
Word Bearers 6000 Points
 
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior




Yes, you're tabled if you have no units on the board at the end of turn one. Silly plan!
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Note that that only applies at the end of a Game Turn, not player turn.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

Does Necron have something that can come in from Reserve T1?

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Deathmarks? But that's relying on your opponent having something arrive from reserves on their first turn... (Drop Pod / Mordrak etc.?)

The most recent FAQ for either the BRB or Necrons (or both, can't remember) changed the rule so you can't use the C'tan power to bring in a Flier on turn one.
   
Made in au
Furious Raptor




Melbourne Australia

So the ultimate answer is NO. I cant do do that? Not unless I want to table myself on turn 1?

So. it would mean the rule of you can only reserve half of your army preceded the rules of units that MUST be in reserve are not counted in that half?

FOR THE DARK GODS
Word Bearers 6000 Points
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





kissmymom wrote:
So the ultimate answer is NO. I cant do do that? Not unless I want to table myself on turn 1?

So. it would mean the rule of you can only reserve half of your army preceded the rules of units that MUST be in reserve are not counted in that half?

No. It is 100% legal to start with your entire army in Reserve if they're all embarked in Flyers.
It's a bad idea because you'll lose the game.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

kissmymom wrote:


So. it would mean the rule of you can only reserve half of your army preceded the rules of units that MUST be in reserve are not counted in that half?

No, it IS possible to have your whole army in reserves if all of them HAVE to be. But because of a different rule, you'll lose at the end of turn 1 for not having anything on the table.
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

Droppod armies can actually do that because they have to arrive on T1.

My advice would be to put a tough unit somewhere out of LoS.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: