Switch Theme:

Generating Powers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
World-Weary Pathfinder






So this has come up in a couple of threads I have been in. Can a psycher roll on one table from in their Codex and another from in the BRB?

On a Farseer:

"Farseers generate powers from the Runes of Fate, Telepathy and Divination disciplines"

But from the BRB FAQ:

"Q: Can psychic powers be mixed and matched from the psychic
disciplines and those found in the Codexes? (p418)
A: No. You may select from the psychic powers listed in the
Codex as normal or swap them for a number of rolls on the
psychic disciplines tables."

RAI, its just referring to older codexes where you choose the power, rather than roll for it, but does RAW allow for someone with a newer codex to mix their disciplines?

Ulthwé Eldar 2.5k points and growing! 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Yes all 6th ed codexs lets you mix and match tables from codex and BRB, that FAQ is only revalent to older codex;s

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




Melbourne

If you read that closely you'll see that Runes of Fate and Runes of Battle are considered Psychic Disciplines, not powers from the codex. So Farseers have access to three disciplines - Fate, Telepathy and Divination; so that FAQ actually doesn't apply at all, rather than being overridden.

Wow. That's me being pretty picky...

Eldar: 8,560
Tyranid: 2,397
Tau: Soon... 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






It would also seriously mess up marked CSM Sorcerers, since they have to mix and match between rulebook and Codex disciplines (and includes an example of doing just that).
   
Made in gb
World-Weary Pathfinder






I've had a chance to check over the BRB's section on Generating Powers:

"In some codexes, a Psycher will have a specific psychic power, or set of psychic powers - where this is the case, it will be clearly stated in the relevant codex. Otherwise, a Psyker generates random psychic powers from amongst the psychic disciplines known to him."

- p418, in the hardback ed.

Emphasis mine. Farseer knows those three disciplines, generates from those three disciplines, seems straight forward.

So looks like I've answered my own question, though I think the FAQ needs to be updated to reflect the 6th Ed codexes, for clarity.

Ulthwé Eldar 2.5k points and growing! 
   
Made in us
Brainy Zoanthrope





Wait so it actually means my Hive Tyrant could take a roll on the Biomancy table, get say.. Iron Arm and then roll on a different table for his second power?

The only thing I can't do is swap out only 1 of the 2 codex powers?

Looks like I had that wrong until now..
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




Melbourne

Baktru wrote:
Wait so it actually means my Hive Tyrant could take a roll on the Biomancy table, get say.. Iron Arm and then roll on a different table for his second power?

The only thing I can't do is swap out only 1 of the 2 codex powers?

Looks like I had that wrong until now..


Yup. Since Tyranids have an old codex, you can either take powers ONLY from the codex, or powers ONLY from the Disciplines available. You do have to pay for the powers you take from the Disciplines however - so you buy the 2 cheapest and then swap them out with a roll.

Eldar: 8,560
Tyranid: 2,397
Tau: Soon... 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

majendie wrote:
Baktru wrote:
Wait so it actually means my Hive Tyrant could take a roll on the Biomancy table, get say.. Iron Arm and then roll on a different table for his second power?

The only thing I can't do is swap out only 1 of the 2 codex powers?

Looks like I had that wrong until now..


Yup. Since Tyranids have an old codex, you can either take powers ONLY from the codex, or powers ONLY from the Disciplines available. You do have to pay for the powers you take from the Disciplines however - so you buy the 2 cheapest and then swap them out with a roll.


Except for the Tervigon, Tyranids don't have to pay for powers. Tervigons can opt to buy two additional powers but start with one.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: