Switch Theme:

Question with Tyranids  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Death-Dealing Ultramarine Devastator




Massachusetts

Came up in a game today. If there are units at the beginning of the turn out of synapse, but a trygon prime deep strikes in range and provides synapse, do the units that were out of synapse range before the deep strike sti test for instinctive behavior?

We played it that the deep strike happened first, at the beginning of the player turn, but before the beginning of the movement phase, which is when you check for synapse. Did we play it right?

Overwhelm the enemy with an unrelenting onslaught of the hive mind.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





it depends, i believe that coming in from reserves happens before or at the same time (beginning of the Movement Phase) as would the Instinctive Behavior test.

So the player, whose turn it is, can choose which happens first, and so if the Trygon placement results in the nearby units being in Synapse range then they should be OK.

I am not 100% on this though.
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon






I believe the above is correct. However, if the units out and then you MOVE synapse into range they must check first.


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement phase’ does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first?
A:They do occur simultaneously - as such, the player whose turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.

You are looking at the same situation here, so use the same section of page 9 to support it. You, as the player whose turn it is, decides which order these events occur as they are simultaneous. If they ask for something more then that section of the book, point to the FAQ on the official website where that question outlines a similar, not exact, situation and states to view page 9.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/06 03:24:10


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





St. Louis, MO

Tyranid FAQ:

Q: Do units who begin their turn more than 12" from any Synapse
Creature have to test for Instinctive Behaviour if a Synapse Creature
arrives from reserve within 12" at the beginning of the Movement
phase? (p33)
A: Yes – the model has begun its Movement phase outside of
synapse range.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/06 05:13:31


11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die.
++

Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: