Switch Theme:

Eldar Farseers and multiple castings of spells  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Focused Fire Warrior





Is a Farseer able to cast, say, "Guide" and "Prescience" on two different units in the same turn? What about the Divination Primaris power?

I have looked through google, the search history here on Dakka, and my rulebook, and I've found differing opinions. I would say you would be able to, but maybe I'm missing some crucial sentence somewhere. Any input is appreciated.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/07 23:24:38


"Use the Force, Harry." -Gandalf

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 Stormcrow wrote:
Is a Farseer able to cast, say, "Guide" on two different units in the same turn? What about the Divination Primaris power?

I have looked through google, the search history here on Dakka, and my rulebook, and I've found differing opinions. I would say you would be able to, but maybe I'm missing some crucial sentence somewhere. Any input is appreciated.


Perhaps look at the rulebook for psychic powers?

It clearly explains that you cannot use the same power more than once in the same turn.

Page 67, 2nd paragraph, to be exact.


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/07 23:21:03


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Focused Fire Warrior





I should have clarified: What about "Guide" and "Prescience" in the same turn on two different units. I meant a spell that does essentially the same thing but with a few caveats.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/07 23:27:45


"Use the Force, Harry." -Gandalf

 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 Stormcrow wrote:
I should have clarified: What about "Guide" and "Prescience" in the same turn on two different units. I meant a spell that does essentially the same thing but with a few caveats.


They're different spells, so why wouldn't you?

I assume there's some confusion because all shooting must be at the same unit. Unless it's a Witchfire, and thus a shooting attack, those restrictions are only for shooting and nothing else.
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

 Stormcrow wrote:
I should have clarified: What about "Guide" and "Prescience" in the same turn on two different units. I meant a spell that does essentially the same thing but with a few caveats.


This is definitely possible, and in fact a good plan for a Farseer since you can guarantee getting both powers. I'm doing this already.
As mentioned by Chrysis, blessings and maledictions don't follow the shooting rule of having to target the same unit. HOWEVER - be aware that Prescience only has 12" range whereas Guide has 24". Make sure you measure before you cast either.

(edit) by the way... Prescience *IS* the Divination primaris power.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/08 10:16:40


"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

...Note that my original response above was based on previous wording of the post that made it seem like the question was about casting the actual same power on the same unit twice...


But yes, when it comes to 'Guide' and 'prescience' they are two separate powers, no matter how similar their effects may be, so they can both be cast on different units in the same turn (or even the same unit if you wanted, if say, your first attempt at casting one of them failed).

But remember, no matter how many powers you cast on the same unit no single die can ever be re-rolled more than once.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/08 12:26:41


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Maniacal Gibbering Madboy





Alaska

How is it legal to take both powers??

"Q: Can psychic powers be mixed and matched from the psychic disciplines and those found in the Codexes? (p418)
A: No. You may select from the psychic powers listed in the Codex as normal or swap them for a number of rolls on the psychic disciplines tables."

Reading this it states that you can take psychic powers from the codex aka roll on that table or roll on the tables in the main book.

Check out my Batreps @ Facebook.com/closecombatwargaming

Or on YouTube subscribe to Khorvahn89

 
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






 Khorvahn wrote:
How is it legal to take both powers??

"Q: Can psychic powers be mixed and matched from the psychic disciplines and those found in the Codexes? (p418)
A: No. You may select from the psychic powers listed in the Codex as normal or swap them for a number of rolls on the psychic disciplines tables."

Reading this it states that you can take psychic powers from the codex aka roll on that table or roll on the tables in the main book.


That FAQ answer is for older 5th ed codex's that can just take powers, such as Jaws for Space Wolves. They can't mix and match jaws + a roll on divinations, but a farseer can pick runes of fate, divination or telepathy (in any combination)
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Because 6th edition powers ar elisted as Disciplines, and the rules state what you can and cannot take

If your stance were true a level 3 MoN sorceror would not be legal to field.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: