Switch Theme:

Interesting wording on Demon weapons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





There are two weapons in the demon codex that seem to give you an ability by just possessing a weapon not needing to use the weapon.

Blade of blood and Mutating Warpblade both say the bearer, it does not appear you have to use the weapon to get the ability like you do with axe of khorne and staff of change.
   
Made in dk
Dakka Veteran




Yes, Bloodlust, for example, says that. The weapon itself have Melee, Bloodlust and Specialist Weapon. So if your thinking about Disarm, it still makes the weapon plain Melee without Bloodlust.

Andy Chambers wrote:
To me the Chaos Space Marines needed to be characterised as a threat reaching back to the Imperium's past, a threat which had refused to lie down and become part of history. This is in part why the gods of Chaos are less pivotal in Codex Chaos; we felt that the motivations of Chaos Space Marines should remain their own, no matter how debased and vile. Though the corrupted Space Marines of the Traitor Legions make excellent champions for the gods of Chaos, they are not pawns and have their own agendas of vengeance, empire-building vindication or arcane study which gives them purpose. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





not disarm. I am thinking that if you have axe of khorne and blade of blood you can use the axe of khorne and still get the blade of bloods rampage because of how its worded.
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





"The bearer" of a given weapon has typically been clarified in FAQs as only benefiting from the property of one weapon at a time. (See the dark elder FAQ for a couple examples).

It'd need to be worded differently (such as with the Grey Knight Dreadknights' Greatsword) in order for it's properties to stack.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/08 14:55:04


 
   
Made in dk
Dakka Veteran




tgf wrote:
not disarm. I am thinking that if you have axe of khorne and blade of blood you can use the axe of khorne and still get the blade of bloods rampage because of how its worded.


Ah yes they do stack. The bearer gets the Special rule and that's it. In the case of the Nemesis Greatsword the wording is "A model with a Nemesis Greatsword re-rolls...". That surely must work the same way as "The bearer of the Blade of Blood...". If anyone argues against this is for the Nemesis Greatsword ruling, then they play Grey Knights; they definitely don't play Chaos Daemons

Andy Chambers wrote:
To me the Chaos Space Marines needed to be characterised as a threat reaching back to the Imperium's past, a threat which had refused to lie down and become part of history. This is in part why the gods of Chaos are less pivotal in Codex Chaos; we felt that the motivations of Chaos Space Marines should remain their own, no matter how debased and vile. Though the corrupted Space Marines of the Traitor Legions make excellent champions for the gods of Chaos, they are not pawns and have their own agendas of vengeance, empire-building vindication or arcane study which gives them purpose. 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Chaospling wrote:If anyone argues against this is for the Nemesis Greatsword ruling, then they play Grey Knights; they definitely don't play Chaos Daemons
Or, (and this is the interpretation 'I' prefer) they've read the FAQs I've referenced above and noticed that GW has already established precedent on how they handle phrases like 'the bearer of' vs. 'a model with' or similar.

Don't attribute bias where simple rules-familiarity should suffice.
   
Made in dk
Dakka Veteran




 Neorealist wrote:
Chaospling wrote:If anyone argues against this is for the Nemesis Greatsword ruling, then they play Grey Knights; they definitely don't play Chaos Daemons
Or, (and this is the interpretation 'I' prefer) they've read the FAQs I've referenced above and noticed that GW has already established precedent on how they handle phrases like 'the bearer of' vs. 'a model with' or similar.

Don't attribute bias where simple rules-familiarity should suffice.


Don't take that last sentence seriously, I was just teasing a bit You may certainly be right based on the Dark Eldar codex and FAQ though I don't have their codex. If you are right, then it surely is the usual Space Marines > Other armies story. The "bearer of" sentence shouldn't imply that the weapon actually hits the enemy, just like the "a model with" sentence doesn't.

Andy Chambers wrote:
To me the Chaos Space Marines needed to be characterised as a threat reaching back to the Imperium's past, a threat which had refused to lie down and become part of history. This is in part why the gods of Chaos are less pivotal in Codex Chaos; we felt that the motivations of Chaos Space Marines should remain their own, no matter how debased and vile. Though the corrupted Space Marines of the Traitor Legions make excellent champions for the gods of Chaos, they are not pawns and have their own agendas of vengeance, empire-building vindication or arcane study which gives them purpose. 
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

Chaospling wrote:
 Neorealist wrote:
Chaospling wrote:If anyone argues against this is for the Nemesis Greatsword ruling, then they play Grey Knights; they definitely don't play Chaos Daemons
Or, (and this is the interpretation 'I' prefer) they've read the FAQs I've referenced above and noticed that GW has already established precedent on how they handle phrases like 'the bearer of' vs. 'a model with' or similar.

Don't attribute bias where simple rules-familiarity should suffice.


Don't take that last sentence seriously, I was just teasing a bit You may certainly be right based on the Dark Eldar codex and FAQ though I don't have their codex. If you are right, then it surely is the usual Space Marines > Other armies story. The "bearer of" sentence shouldn't imply that the weapon actually hits the enemy, just like the "a model with" sentence doesn't.


If it was due to "Space Marines > Other armies", wouldn't it, you know, apply to all Space Marine weapons as opposed to one weapon for one model in one Codex?

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in dk
Dakka Veteran




 AlmightyWalrus wrote:
Chaospling wrote:
 Neorealist wrote:
Chaospling wrote:If anyone argues against this is for the Nemesis Greatsword ruling, then they play Grey Knights; they definitely don't play Chaos Daemons
Or, (and this is the interpretation 'I' prefer) they've read the FAQs I've referenced above and noticed that GW has already established precedent on how they handle phrases like 'the bearer of' vs. 'a model with' or similar.

Don't attribute bias where simple rules-familiarity should suffice.


Don't take that last sentence seriously, I was just teasing a bit You may certainly be right based on the Dark Eldar codex and FAQ though I don't have their codex. If you are right, then it surely is the usual Space Marines > Other armies story. The "bearer of" sentence shouldn't imply that the weapon actually hits the enemy, just like the "a model with" sentence doesn't.


If it was due to "Space Marines > Other armies", wouldn't it, you know, apply to all Space Marine weapons as opposed to one weapon for one model in one Codex?


Yes, all weapons with the same wording as "the bearer of" or "a model with".

Andy Chambers wrote:
To me the Chaos Space Marines needed to be characterised as a threat reaching back to the Imperium's past, a threat which had refused to lie down and become part of history. This is in part why the gods of Chaos are less pivotal in Codex Chaos; we felt that the motivations of Chaos Space Marines should remain their own, no matter how debased and vile. Though the corrupted Space Marines of the Traitor Legions make excellent champions for the gods of Chaos, they are not pawns and have their own agendas of vengeance, empire-building vindication or arcane study which gives them purpose. 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





So far they've been pretty consistent with 'no mixing two weapon abilities allowed' as a general rule. The only major exception is the Dreadknights sword; presumably because it's written differently from the templating they use on nearly all other weapons which grant the wielder some boon.
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 Neorealist wrote:
So far they've been pretty consistent with 'no mixing two weapon abilities allowed' as a general rule. The only major exception is the Dreadknights sword; presumably because it's written differently from the templating they use on nearly all other weapons which grant the wielder some boon.


I'm going to assume it's because whoever wrote the FAQ didn't really know what they were talking about and got asked a leading question. If you didn't already know, or forgot, that the Dreadknight wasn't S10 and thus the S10 in the question was because of the Fist it would be easy to make the same mistake. Given the rules are explicitly clear that you only get the benefits of one weapon, and neither the Greatsword nor the Fist are explicit in being the only exception in the game, I'm going to go with it being a mistake. It wouldn't be the first time a FAQ contained seriously bogus rulings, anyone remember Counter-Attack + Furious Charge?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Going to ask the mods to move this to YMDC.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
here are the relavant passages so far relating to this discussion

GK .54
A model with a Nemesis Greatsword re-rolls failed To Hit,
To Wound and armour penetration rolls in close combat.

GK FAQ
Q: Does a Nemesis Dreadknight armed with a Nemesis greatsword have
4 Attacks at Strength 10 that, because of the Nemesis greatsword, can
re-roll To Hit, To Wound and Armour Penetration rolls?(p54)
A: Yes.

Daemons .62
Bloodlust: The bearer of the Blade of Blood has the
Rampage special rule.

Warp Mutation: If the bearer slays an enemy Character or
Monstrous Creature, roll a D(}n the roll of a 2+ the victim
is transformed into a Chaos Spawn under the control of the
Daemon player.

DE FAQ
Q: If a model is armed with a Djin blade and another special close
combat weapon, such as an agoniser, and he chooses not to attack with
the Djin blade, does he still get the two bonus Attacks? (p56)
A: No.

DE .56
A djin blade is a power
weapon. Furthermore, the bearer makes two bonus attacks
every round of combat - roll these separately.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/10 15:57:32


 
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Coastal Bliss in the Shadow of Sizewell





Suffolk, where the Aliens roam.

Done.

"That's not an Ork, its a girl.." - Last words of High General Daran Ul'tharem, battle of Ursha VII.

Two White Horses (Ipswich Town and Denver Broncos Supporter)
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Seems like it would gain the benefit. It reads more like the GK one to me.


   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Except for the fact that the daemon weapon uses the verbiage 'the bearer of' (similar to the dark elder FAQ ruling above), and not 'with a' (unique to the greatsword thus far).

I'm sure that justification can be made to indicate how they are 'similar' grammatically speaking; but the fact remains that the former wording has been FAQed to follow the normal '2 weapons abilities' rules, whereas the latter has (via wording, as clarified in their FAQ) an explicit exception to same.

I'm pretty sure every single weapon with the phrase 'the bearer of' has received an FAQ entry indicating it does not play well with others, so to speak.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/06/10 16:25:39


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 Neorealist wrote:
So far they've been pretty consistent with 'no mixing two weapon abilities allowed' as a general rule. The only major exception is the Dreadknights sword; presumably because it's written differently from the templating they use on nearly all other weapons which grant the wielder some boon.
Actually Power scourges on defilers in the CSM codex also get this exception as per their FAQ. It has the similar wording of, "model with a..."

As we have two instances of "model with a..." getting the exception, and precedent for "bearer of..." not getting the exception, it seems intent is clear.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/10 17:12:47


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Power Scourge from CSM dex.

"Flail: If one or more enemy models are in base contact
with a model with a Flail weapon at the beginning of the
Fight sub-phase, "

If I get the jist of where this is going you are all saying that bearer of means no bonus but if they use model with they get the bonus.

Without the FAQ's I am unsure how GW could have expected a literate person to glean this but I see the pattern as described.
   
Made in fi
Courageous Space Marine Captain






GK FAQ is just stupid and should not be used as precedent for anything. IIRC, FAQ for their psychic powers breaks the normal rules for applying bonuses too.

   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Every Tyranid Close Combat weapon states "A model with this weapon..." and those also stack with each other.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Happyjew wrote:
Every Tyranid Close Combat weapon states "A model with this weapon..." and those also stack with each other.

In a defined way and with rules to explain how.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

rigeld2 wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
Every Tyranid Close Combat weapon states "A model with this weapon..." and those also stack with each other.

In a defined way and with rules to explain how.


I was using that as an example of wording. Every time a weapon says "A model with..." GW has said the model benefits without having to actually use the weapon. As compared to every ruling they have made on weapons that say "The bearer of...".

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 Happyjew wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
Every Tyranid Close Combat weapon states "A model with this weapon..." and those also stack with each other.

In a defined way and with rules to explain how.


I was using that as an example of wording. Every time a weapon says "A model with..." GW has said the model benefits without having to actually use the weapon. As compared to every ruling they have made on weapons that say "The bearer of...".


Tyranid Close Combat Weapons are a terrible example because they aren't Weapons. Page 33 says they don't use Close Combat Weapons as such and they were never updated with a weapon profile, either in their FAQ or the Rulebook. They aren't weapons, they're closer to a Power Field Generator in rules than a Power Weapon. There's exactly one Melee weapon in the Tyranid Codex, "Claws and Teeth" - a normal CCW.

There is exactly one instance (that I'm aware of) where a weapon's rules can be used without using the weapon, and that's the Dreadknight Greatsword or alternatively the Doomfist. It's an exception, not the norm.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

As it is there really is no true precedence to try to align which is right. Sincerely thank GW for going back and forth with their verbage.

   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

tgf wrote:
DE FAQ
Q: If a model is armed with a Djin blade and another special close
combat weapon, such as an agoniser, and he chooses not to attack with
the Djin blade, does he still get the two bonus Attacks? (p56)
A: No.

DE .56
A djin blade is a power
weapon. Furthermore, the bearer makes two bonus attacks
every round of combat - roll these separately.


The other relevant quote is the base rule from the rulebook- More Than One Weapon on page 51:

If a model has more than one Melee weapon, he must choose which one to attack with when he comes to strike blows - he cannot mix and match the abilities of several different Melee weapons.


The Djin Blade ruling is in accordance with this. I agree that the Dreadknight ruling clashes with how the rules otherwise consistently treat weapon special rules/abilities, and should be regarded as an unexplained exception.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 Mannahnin wrote:
tgf wrote:
DE FAQ
Q: If a model is armed with a Djin blade and another special close
combat weapon, such as an agoniser, and he chooses not to attack with
the Djin blade, does he still get the two bonus Attacks? (p56)
A: No.

DE .56
A djin blade is a power
weapon. Furthermore, the bearer makes two bonus attacks
every round of combat - roll these separately.


The other relevant quote is the base rule from the rulebook- More Than One Weapon on page 51:

If a model has more than one Melee weapon, he must choose which one to attack with when he comes to strike blows - he cannot mix and match the abilities of several different Melee weapons.


The Djin Blade ruling is in accordance with this. I agree that the Dreadknight ruling clashes with how the rules otherwise consistently treat weapon special rules/abilities, and should be regarded as an unexplained exception.


The other FAQ along the same lines was the now defunct "Scorpion Chainsword being mixed with the Scorpion Claw" ruling, which also ruled against mixing and matching.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: