| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 03:54:20
Subject: Can Autarchs Stop Reserve Rolls Entirely?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I have a hypothetical for you all:
Imagine, for whatever reason, taking four Autarchs in a double force-org game. Together they can provide 4 +/- to reserve rolls. Does this mean that they could modify the roll to either a 1+ or a 7+, which would effectively guarantee success/failure?
My gut says "no" but then again RAW doesn't necessarily care what my gut has to say. I vaguely recall that an old FAQ prevented this, but if that was an Eldar FAQ then that no longer exists.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 05:07:30
Subject: Can Autarchs Stop Reserve Rolls Entirely?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
Re-read the Autarch rules. It says "One or more Autarchs". You only get the bonus once.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 05:35:54
Subject: Can Autarchs Stop Reserve Rolls Entirely?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
/thread
Thanks for pointing that out!
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 05:37:07
Subject: Re:Can Autarchs Stop Reserve Rolls Entirely?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The best I've been able to manage is a Dual Force Org Marine/I.G. where I fielded a Land Raider Proteus (+1), a Master of the Fleet (+1) and rolling a '5' on the Warlord Strategic chart (+1) to make my opponent need a '6' to bring in his reserves. Gives the 'Air Force' lists nightmares.
|
Fire claws innocents without number
As charred cinders replace green life
Death takes good and evil to their slumber
And guilt stabs into me with its knife |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 05:47:11
Subject: Can Autarchs Stop Reserve Rolls Entirely?
|
 |
Disguised Speculo
|
Plus reserves come in automatically at turn four.
Personally there have been heaps of instances where I *want* to stay off of the board.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 06:28:56
Subject: Re:Can Autarchs Stop Reserve Rolls Entirely?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Yes, but if you come across a Necron 6 x 'Croissant' list, or a Chaos 'Puking Turkey' list, you can often mess up their whole world keeping a bunch of then off the board and perhaps tabling them before turn 4.
|
Fire claws innocents without number
As charred cinders replace green life
Death takes good and evil to their slumber
And guilt stabs into me with its knife |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 07:20:52
Subject: Re:Can Autarchs Stop Reserve Rolls Entirely?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Fedral wrote:Yes, but if you come across a Necron 6 x 'Croissant' list, or a Chaos 'Puking Turkey' list, you can often mess up their whole world keeping a bunch of then off the board and perhaps tabling them before turn 4.
Autarchs have no effect on opponents reserve rolls.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 22:19:59
Subject: Can Autarchs Stop Reserve Rolls Entirely?
|
 |
Wraith
|
Awe two Autarchs don't stack?
Darn, well then definitely take a comms relay!
|
Shine on, Kaldor Dayglow!
Not Ken Lobb
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 23:24:26
Subject: Can Autarchs Stop Reserve Rolls Entirely?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Do keep in mind:
When rolling reserves, a roll of 1 is always a failure. Page 124, third paragraph down from the Arriving from Reserve section. So even if you stack two units that give a bonus to these reserve rolls, you still are only going to receive the effects from one of the two sources. The second source becomes irrelevant, for even if you stacked it down to a negative number a roll of 1 auto-fails.
Can be debated you could adjust your enemies rolls to 7+ but special rules to adjust your enemies rolls are less common. I can think of maybe two, at a stretch three, special rules that do so off the top of my head. Some of these require blind luck, such as a warlord trait, while others are spread throughout different codex. So the possibility of getting 4 special rules needed to deny your opponent reserves completely is slim to none.
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|