Switch Theme:

Eldar Warlord trait: Deep Striking  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





If an autarch was deep striking with warp spiders and had the no scatter warlord trait, does that mean the unit does not scatter? Or does the Autarch have to be on the board in order for the Warlord trait to take effect?

Color Scheme
Luggnath Army

Field testing>>>Paper testing 
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

So your plan would be to place the autarch first then his unit? Don't you place a member of a deepstriking squad as a token then scatter him then place the others?
So the autarch would scatter beforehand I'd say, you'd then deploy the rest of his squad around him normally
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Ignoring the unit for a moment, if the Autarch was deep striking by himself, would he scatter? Wherever you place him, he's always going to be within 6" of the Warlord?
   
Made in nl
Emboldened Warlock





Groningen

Quanar wrote:
Ignoring the unit for a moment, if the Autarch was deep striking by himself, would he scatter? Wherever you place him, he's always going to be within 6" of the Warlord?


Good one, thanks
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




Melbourne

I'd say the Warlord would scatter as normal, but following units like the Spiders would not scatter if placed within 6".

The Warlord is not on the table before he deep strikes, therefore he is not landing within 6" of himself. The rule says that "units...do not scatter as long as the first model placed is within 6" of the Warlord." How are you going to do this, if he's not on the table?

It's even covered in the fluff - "The Warlord can...position himself where his reinforcements are due to arrive." He scatters magically to the exact point everyone else is going to arrive. Bam!

Eldar: 8,560
Tyranid: 2,397
Tau: Soon... 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Devil's advocate version - if the intention was for the Autarch not to scatter, why not specifically state as much? This is how it's worked for other Warlord traits and special character abilities that allow a model and their unit not to scatter (such as Tau and Commander Dante).

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





 Super Ready wrote:
Devil's advocate version - if the intention was for the Autarch not to scatter, why not specifically state as much? This is how it's worked for other Warlord traits and special character abilities that allow a model and their unit not to scatter (such as Tau and Commander Dante).


So instead of having the autarch with the spiders, It would be better to DS them separately so the planned attachment of the Autarch to the unit would happen automatically (in addition the to the Autarch not scattering) when the spiders are within 1"-2" or him?

Color Scheme
Luggnath Army

Field testing>>>Paper testing 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Yes, that would work - the Autarch would attach at the end of the Movement phase. Note though that this means any Interceptor fire directed at the unit must be taken on the Warp Spiders only - as they're not joined yet.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Actually, interesting situation it would cause for interceptor.

It would fire at either the warlord or the warp spiders as separate units, or both of them as one whole unit. This is all because both take place at the end of the movement phase. Luckily for the player coming in from deep strike, he gets to chose if he joins first or if the interceptor goes first, as per page 9.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Oh, it is the end of the phase, isn't it? My bad. I'm thinking of Coteaz' ability.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





JinxDragon wrote:
Actually, interesting situation it would cause for interceptor.

It would fire at either the warlord or the warp spiders as separate units, or both of them as one whole unit. This is all because both take place at the end of the movement phase. Luckily for the player coming in from deep strike, he gets to chose if he joins first or if the interceptor goes first, as per page 9.


either way I could just duck behind LOS terrain and then run, shoot, then jump back . Glad to hear that both won't be scattering.

Color Scheme
Luggnath Army

Field testing>>>Paper testing 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: