Switch Theme:

Relentless/S&P and Cruising  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Can Relentless/S&P models use normal BS when firing out of a vehicle which moved at Cruising speed?
Yes, they "count as stationary even if they moved." (And their rule overrides the restriction in the Transports section.)
No, they "can only fire Snap Shots." (Because the explicit restriction overrides their special rule.)
Roll off for it, the rules interaction is unclear.

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

When models are in a transport, they count as having moved when the vehicle moves at combat speed, and "can only fire Snap Shots" if the vehicle Cruises (p78). The embarked models also "cannot fire if the vehicle moves Flat Out...."
I played a guy today who thought that his models with Slow and Purposeful could fire at normal BS if the vehicle Cruised, since they "[count] as stationary even if they moved in the previous Movement phase" (p42). I said they couldn't, since the Transports section says the only way they can shoot is with Snap Shots; it thus does not matter whether they are stationary or not, since they can only use Snaps.

Thoughts?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/09 04:52:52


LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






You are correct, the rule is very clear it says if the vehicle moved at cruising speed, models firing out can only fire snap shots. It has nothing to do with whether or not they count as moving or stationary.

edit: Although I can't say I totally agree with the corresponding poll choice, it's not that the restriction overrides the special rule, it's that the special rule has nothing whatsoever to do with the restriction.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/09 05:20:24


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

The intention of the movement rule is pretty clear, but all the technical rules do back it up. If the relentless special rule allowed it to override snap shots on transport movements then it would lead to some very bad situations. It would probably be possible to put relentless units onto a fast skimmer transport and get close enough to fire off some anti-heavy infantry shots into a prime target on turn one. More then a few opponents are not pleased when they face gimmick tactics that they can not defend against, which is why I advise getting your opponents permission before you offload what you think is a unfair army in friendly games.

To get very technical on the matter, the models inside of the transport are not even on the table at all. The rules tell you to remove them from the table and every other rule treats them as off the table. The only exception are special rules, the majority of which give the units permission to interact with the game board. Even if you want to play that the models are somehow on the board, occupying that too small space inside the transport, the only model that is actually moving at that moment is the transport itself.

Therefore all models inside are stationary, regardless of relentless, but it means nothing.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/09 17:11:34


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: