Switch Theme:

Astral Aim and Transports.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners





HI all.

I was talking to a friend and the subject of what would happen if I placed a Purgation Squad in a Razorback/Rhino/Landraider/Chimera, given that Astral Aim after testing to activate lets the Purgation Squad Fire at a unit that they do not have line of sight to.

The issue my friend had was that a unit in a vehicle uses the vehicles LOS to fire, and also uses the fire points to do so.

So Astral Aim lets the unit fire without needing LOS, can it be used while from inside a transport that has not moved this turn?

Or is this just a moot point and it can not be used at all in this situation.

3000+
6000+
2000+
2500+
2500+
:Orks 5000+ 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Whether you have LOS or not without having a firepoint you have no permission to fire from the vehicle. At least for the Razor/Landraider


Automatically Appended Next Post:
The chimera will let 5 fire IIRC while the Rhino only 2.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/11 03:18:29


   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

BLADERIKER wrote:
The issue my friend had was that a unit in a vehicle uses the vehicles LOS to fire,

Not actually true. An embarked unit draws LOS from the vehicle's fire points. The vehicle draws LOS from its weapons.

BLADERIKER wrote:
So Astral Aim lets the unit fire without needing LOS, can it be used while from inside a transport that has not moved this turn?

If the vehicle in question has fire points, embarked models can use those.

If the vehicle has no fire points (like a Land Raider or Razorback), embarked models have two things preventing them from shooting from inside. 1. The lack of Fire Points, which are the only rule giving them permission to fire out. 2. The lack of LOS.

Astral Aim helps with 2, but not with 1.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: