Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/11 20:12:23
Subject: Thunderhawk question
|
 |
Crushing Black Templar Crusader Pilot
|
The Thunderhawk entry in IA Aeronautica describes it this way:
"Units disembarking from a Thunderhawk may assault on the same turn"
Does this overrule the "coming from reserve" rule from the BRB?
Meaning: can I place the Thunderhawk on the board when it comes in from reserve in Hover mode and have infantry disembark and assault right away? Or will they have to wait at least 1 turn?
Let me know what you think.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/11 20:14:32
Subject: Thunderhawk question
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Have to wait at least a turn.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/11 20:16:57
Subject: Thunderhawk question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Well the models in the Thunedrhawk can not disembark the turn the Thawk arrives as the Thawk will have moved over 6 inches.
Also if they were able to disembark there are two rules preventing them from assaulting.
1) Disembarking from a transport vehicle
2) Arriving from reserve.
The Thunedrhawks rule only overrides one of these.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/11 20:20:18
Subject: Thunderhawk question
|
 |
Crushing Black Templar Crusader Pilot
|
Ok, I appreciate the clarification.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/11 20:52:01
Subject: Thunderhawk question
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Not true. This is NOT the "assault vehicle" special rule, it's an entirely different rule. It doesn't say "may assault as normal", "may ignore the ban on assaulting out of a vehicle", etc. It just says "may assault". So this overrules all general restrictions on assaulting, and a unit that disembarks from a Thunderhawk may assault.
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/11 21:15:02
Subject: Thunderhawk question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
I never said it was the assault vehicle rule, and It really does not.
The dudes inside can not even disembark if they move over 6 inches, so it is a moot point anyway.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/11 21:54:55
Subject: Thunderhawk question
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
If a Valkyrie can't make it onto the table with a 6" move, there's no way a Thunderhawk can...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/11 23:00:49
Subject: Thunderhawk question
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Peregrine wrote:Not true. This is NOT the "assault vehicle" special rule, it's an entirely different rule. It doesn't say "may assault as normal", "may ignore the ban on assaulting out of a vehicle", etc. It just says "may assault". So this overrules all general restrictions on assaulting, and a unit that disembarks from a Thunderhawk may assault.
The logic in this is flawed. Would you allow the same unit to assault through impassable terrain? You've still disembarked from the Thunderhawk, after all.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/12 03:11:15
Subject: Thunderhawk question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Can the ThunderHawk hover?
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/12 03:13:05
Subject: Thunderhawk question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Yes, yes it can.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/12 04:00:06
Subject: Thunderhawk question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Irrelevant anyway, was just wondering if it could be possible to even pull it off. While the Thunderhawk rule defiantly overrides the limitation on charging from transport the unit within still deployed that turn. Nothing in the Thunderhawk rules address page 125's ban on charging. While codex does trump rulebook, the rule in question has to be directly opposed to something stated in the rule book. There is no conflict between a rule which is effectively "assault vehicles" allowing a charge, and the rules preventing charging on the turn you deployed.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/12 04:03:53
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/12 04:01:01
Subject: Thunderhawk question
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Super Ready wrote:The logic in this is flawed. Would you allow the same unit to assault through impassable terrain? You've still disembarked from the Thunderhawk, after all.
No, because it says you may assault. It does NOT say that you may successfully assault anything you want. Failed charges are still failed charges. Automatically Appended Next Post: DeathReaper wrote:The dudes inside can not even disembark if they move over 6 inches, so it is a moot point anyway.
Jump infantry can disembark in a drop run, and then assault.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/12 04:03:16
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/12 04:08:47
Subject: Thunderhawk question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Drop run uses the rules for Deep Strike right?
Therefore no assaulting.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/12 04:16:22
Subject: Thunderhawk question
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Except the Thunderhawk says "if you disembark you may assault". Specific overrules general.
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/12 04:45:14
Subject: Thunderhawk question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Except that does not over ride the the rules about reserves or Deep Striking, just disembarking.
Do not ignore the context of the disembarking and assaulting rule of the Thawk.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/12 05:43:00
Subject: Thunderhawk question
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
May assault vs cannot assault. A specific restriction always overrides a specific permission.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/12 05:43:36
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/12 05:58:55
Subject: Thunderhawk question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Sorry about that, reread your post again and see that you are unlikely trying to make an argument that we have a conflict of rules occurring, so therefore the permission wins as it was granted by a codex. I am still going to keep my post up though, simply so other people who think there is a conflict can read it. Again, sorry about that. ------- Only problem here is the specific rule is not in direct conflict with the general rule and only when you have a conflict does page 7 come into play. A conflict in rules is not when the outcome would very from what one rule states. Conflicts in the rules occur when one rule gives you permission and a second rule is denying you permission for the exact same thing. If you can still apply both rules separately, without needing one to override the other to resolve, you have no conflict even if the outcome is different to expected. In this case there are two rules denying the ability to charge and permission to override then is needed for both. You have overwritten one lot of permissions but you still lack the ability to address the second group of permissions. So while you have all the permission you want to charge after disembarking, you just can't do it on the turn you deploy because you do not have specific permission to do that.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/06/12 06:05:35
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/12 15:39:56
Subject: Thunderhawk question
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
DeathReaper wrote:Do not ignore the context of the disembarking and assaulting rule of the Thawk.
I don't think he's ignoring it. This looks like a disagreement about the 'intent' of the author. Those of the permissive position (like Peregrine) read less into it than you. Sadly, even context is often subjective in a game like 40k.
|
"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/12 16:37:42
Subject: Thunderhawk question
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Either way the restriction is nothing to do with the Thunderhawk.
The unit has arrived from reserve. THAT is what is forcing the assault restriction. If they disembarked from a Thunderhawk or not is irrelevent.
The Thunderhawk rules make no mention of removing this restriction.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/12 17:08:16
Subject: Thunderhawk question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
grendel083 wrote:Either way the restriction is nothing to do with the Thunderhawk.
The unit has arrived from reserve. THAT is what is forcing the assault restriction. If they disembarked from a Thunderhawk or not is irrelevent.
The Thunderhawk rules make no mention of removing this restriction.
Exactly this.
The Thawk removes the restriction for disembarkation and assault, not anything else.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/12 18:14:22
Subject: Re:Thunderhawk question
|
 |
Despised Traitorous Cultist
|
I though that the thunderhawk was a "orbital lander", something like a deep striking flyer without scattering. I'll be checking it when I get home. It still would have to fly for one turn before allowed to hover and start deploying units.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/12 18:16:38
|
|
 |
 |
|