Switch Theme:

Psychis Power and Unwieldy Weapon Feature  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation




So, I play GK, one of the GK Psy-Powers their Librarian can take is Quicksilver which raises the targeted unit to Initiative 10. My question is that if I use this on a unit that is armed with Nemesis Daemon Hammers does it raise that unit to Initiative 10 (instead of going at Initiative 1?)

There's no kill like overkill.  
   
Made in us
Beast of Nurgle



Los Angeles Area

Nope, unwieldy weapons swing at initiative1 regardless of the model's stat line. Unless there is a specific GK FAQ for this.

Snurgle Love  
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

Unwieldy is a replacement value that occurs after Quicksilver goes into effect, meaning that while the model is at initiative 10, he still swings at initiative 1.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

As above
You will be at I10 but you'll swing at I1
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Unwieldy make you attack at a set initiative. Quicksilver modifies your base initiative. So there is no effect, although you will be I10 for sweeping advances and initiative tests.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation




Ok...I really don't like that because I feel like it makes Quicksilver pointless...I can already get most of my army up to I6 Nemesis Halberds which makes them competitors with most Eldar melee stuff.

There's no kill like overkill.  
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Well, the power is good for making your swords and halberds strike at I10. Which is nice if you are facing something with I6 or higher.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




rathkoron wrote:
Ok...I really don't like that because I feel like it makes Quicksilver pointless...I can already get most of my army up to I6 Nemesis Halberds which makes them competitors with most Eldar melee stuff.

Or you get charged by banshees, or fiends, which drop your I by 5.
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

An interesting rules twist is that a GK unit with Halberds and active Quicksilver that are charged by Banshees strike at initiative 7 (4 becomes 10 during their movement phase, 10 is reduce to 5 when the Banshees charge, Halberd equipped models strike at initiative 7).

So it behooves the Eldar player to pay attention.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 jeffersonian000 wrote:
An interesting rules twist is that a GK unit with Halberds and active Quicksilver that are charged by Banshees strike at initiative 7 (4 becomes 10 during their movement phase, 10 is reduce to 5 when the Banshees charge, Halberd equipped models strike at initiative 7).

So it behooves the Eldar player to pay attention.

SJ

I thought it would be 10. Set modifiers are applied last after all.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 jeffersonian000 wrote:
An interesting rules twist is that a GK unit with Halberds and active Quicksilver that are charged by Banshees strike at initiative 7 (4 becomes 10 during their movement phase, 10 is reduce to 5 when the Banshees charge, Halberd equipped models strike at initiative 7).

So it behooves the Eldar player to pay attention.

SJ

In theory it would still be 10, as the -5 is applied before the set modifier of 10. 4+2-5, set to 10
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

The 10 is applied during your movement phase, while the -5 is applied during their charge. The +2 is applied during the initiative steps. At initiative, the GK unit would be I10-5+2=7. However, if Quicksilver was applied at the start of the Eldar charge, the GK initiative would be 4-5, reduce to 1, +2 to a net of 3, replaced with a 10 (Hammers still swing at I1). Yet Quicksilver is apply on your turn and lasts until your next turn, allow the replacement value of 10 to be in effect before the Eldar charge, not after.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Reread modifiers on page 3, note the order they are applied.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 jeffersonian000 wrote:
The 10 is applied during your movement phase, while the -5 is applied during their charge. The +2 is applied during the initiative steps. At initiative, the GK unit would be I10-5+2=7. However, if Quicksilver was applied at the start of the Eldar charge, the GK initiative would be 4-5, reduce to 1, +2 to a net of 3, replaced with a 10 (Hammers still swing at I1). Yet Quicksilver is apply on your turn and lasts until your next turn, allow the replacement value of 10 to be in effect before the Eldar charge, not after.
Doesn't matter when it's applied, you re-calculate using the Multiple Modifiers rule. If you don't then the modifers rule simply doesn't work, you'll end up with problems such as a strength bonus being applied before doubling.
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

Like Hammerhand?

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 jeffersonian000 wrote:
Like Hammerhand?

SJ

... Which is an explicit exception.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

Correct.

SJ

Addendum: After further review, I'm changing my stance on this. The 10 initiative replacement value from Quicksilver will in fact override to -5 to initiative applied by charging Banshees, as well as ignoring the +2 to initiative gained from Halberds. It does in fact look like the only condition that could override the set value of 10 is a competing lower set value, to which a roll would be needed to determine which takes precedence that turn.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/12 22:18:16


“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It makes powers such as quicksilver much more valuable now - previouisly halberds made it a poor power to pick.

Note that unwieldy alters the I you strike at, so would be applied "last" in all cases
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Is Quicksilver a Set value as well? I thought it was.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Yes, it is.

But Quicksilver sets your initiative. Unwieldy doesn't set your initiative, it sets the initiative you strike at.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






from the faq
Q: Does the Initiative 10 imposed by the Timeflow Stabiliser take
precedence over other set value modifiers such as Necron Whip
Coils? (p106)
A: No, randomly determine which effect takes precedence
each turn.


timeflow sets I at 10(for all purposes), the whip coil set I at 1(again, only for CC strikes, IIRC no necron dex right now)

Unwieldy sets your I at one (for the purpose of striking and pile ins), quick silver sets it at ten for all purposes, including the aforementioned two.

Competing set modifiers seems to be a roll off,

they are applied at the same time, that unwieldy is only a set modifier for some uses of I value, does not mean it overrides something that sets I value for all uses, including when a model strikes.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/06/13 15:43:22


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 easysauce wrote:
from the faq
Q: Does the Initiative 10 imposed by the Timeflow Stabiliser take
precedence over other set value modifiers such as Necron Whip
Coils? (p106)
A: No, randomly determine which effect takes precedence
each turn.


timeflow sets I at 10(for all purposes), the whip coil set I at 1(again, only for CC strikes, IIRC no necron dex right now)

Incorrect - for all purposes, meaning it's a direct conflict. Not comparable to QS vs UW.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

A better example was from when 6th first came out.
Things like a Banshee mask with a power axe (I'm sure there was an old FAQ on it).
The Banshee (old codex) would be I10 but still striking at I1 due to unwieldy.
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight




A better use of quicksilver would be to cast it on a dreadknight, so he can ID whatever big nasty he's fighting before it can strike back. The latest codex releases have had me reconsidering some of the GK codex powers.

Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment. 
   
Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






rigeld2 wrote:
 easysauce wrote:
from the faq
Q: Does the Initiative 10 imposed by the Timeflow Stabiliser take
precedence over other set value modifiers such as Necron Whip
Coils? (p106)
A: No, randomly determine which effect takes precedence
each turn.


timeflow sets I at 10(for all purposes), the whip coil set I at 1(again, only for CC strikes, IIRC no necron dex right now)

Incorrect - for all purposes, meaning it's a direct conflict. Not comparable to QS vs UW.


yes it is, having a set modifier for all circumstances would logically trump a set modifier for only a couple circumstances (like unweildly), although that is not RAW, it could easily be RAI, although you are welcome to argue that RAI is the UW set modifier always takes prescience. RAW on conflicting set modifiers is only what I quoted above, and says to randomly determine the effect.

This is the only RAW we have for determining which of two set modifiers we use.

arguing that because UW is specifically for "when the model strikes" isnt really the catch 22 you think it is, as the set modifier from QS also applies at that time, in addition to the rest of the applications.

They are both set modifiers, and they both apply to the "when the model attacks" part, so yes they are in direct conflict.




This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/13 20:19:30


 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

They're modifiers for different things.
Quick Silver only modifies the model's Inititive. Unwieldly has nothing to do with this. Doesn't matter one bit what you modify the model's inititative to, it has no effect on unwieldly.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

rigeld2 wrote:
Yes, it is.

But Quicksilver sets your initiative. Unwieldy doesn't set your initiative, it sets the initiative you strike at.

Yea, I know that you strike at I1 with unwieldy, For some reason I thought Quicksilver was +6 initiative, but it is just flat Initiative 10. thanks for the reply.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

If you want another example precedent, look at Snap Shots.
That's a set value, but it means that your shooting attacks are resolved as BS1. The FAQ clarifies that this overrides other set values. In my eyes, the way that Unwieldy means your attacks are resolved as I1 puts it in the same category, so that only things specifically stated as overriding Unwieldy can do so (like Walkers).

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: