Switch Theme:

Standard Bearer and Banners  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Sister Vastly Superior





This may be a simple question, but I am started an actual bretonnian army and read the rules in the codex and BRB within two days.

If you purchase a banner for a unit and a standard bearer, is the standard bearer actually wielding the banner (as an upgrade to the bonus he already provides the unit) or must you model another figure with the purchased banner on top of the standard bearer?

A plain point out to the pages where the information if found would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

18 / 3 / 6 since 6th ed. 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

It is clearer in newer army books - most now state that the standard bearer may take a magical banner, not the unit (as per Bretonnia).

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight



Edinburgh, Scotland

Indeed, you do not need to model another and ifthe standard bearer dies then you lose the banner.

Nite 
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Niteware wrote:
Indeed, you do not need to model another and ifthe standard bearer dies then you lose the banner.


If a rank-and-file standard bearer dies (NOT the Battle Standard Bearer), the banners gets picked up by another model in the unit, you thus remove one model from the back rank.

   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan




In the Casualty section of a Blood Bowl dugout

Not 100% sure what's being asked here although I think if I said that you upgrade one model to a standard bearer that would help.

And to add onto what Sigvatr said, the musician and standard bearer can't be killed until there are no rank and file models left. The Champion, however, can be.

DT:90S+++G++MB++IPwhfb06#+++D+A+++/eWD309R+T(T)DM+

9th Age Fantasy Rules

 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

I read the question as being about the wording in the Brettonian army book - there it states that the unit can upgrade a model to a standard bearer and that the unit may take a (magical) banner.

It does not, however, state that the unit's standard bearer is the one that has to carry said banner.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/13 21:38:53


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight



Edinburgh, Scotland

My point was that when a Standard bearer is acrually dead (which only occurs if all other rnf are dead or if the unit breaks), then you lose the banner. In any other circumstance, while the model may die, the standard bearer role does not.

Nite 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Sure, but the question seems to be does the standard bearer have to carry the magical standard - not who carries it after taking casualties.

editing to add:
It is obviously implied, but reading the book referenced in the question makes the question seem entirely legitimate.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/13 22:01:12


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in ca
Sister Vastly Superior





My apologies if the question was unclear, but yes the book did not explain whether or not the Standard Bearer became the magic banner bearer if I chose to purchase one or if I had to model a second figure to represent the magical banner. Had that been the case, it would have opened another can of worms...

Luckily this is not an issue since the standard bearer simply carries the magical banner.

Thank you all for the response.

18 / 3 / 6 since 6th ed. 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: