| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/14 01:37:36
Subject: Slaanesh Chariots and close combat
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I have only seen these played once and there seemed to be some confusion about many of the rules. I have done some reading and want to confirm what I think and ask a question or two?
1. The are chariots and they are fast vehicles which means they can move 12 inches in movement phase.
2. They are fast vehicles so they can Flat Out 12 inches + 3 for mark of slaanesh meaning the can move 15 inches in the shooting phase.
3. If they charge something its the standard 2d6 charge even if going through difficult terrain (vehicle movement rules).
4. Even though they are not slowed the exalted allures will go last in close combat if charging into difficult.
5. The hammer of wrath hits always go first regardless of initiative penalties.
6. The hammer of wrath hits can technically cause combat to end before i10 by killing all the closest models.
7. They are allowed to pursue even though they don't count as locked in close combat (you still perform combat resolution)?
8. A crew stunned result during overwatch fire could prevent the charge if the other chariots could not maintain 4" coherency?
9. You may abandon an immobilized chariot on the charge.
10. You do get your 5+ daemon save against a dangerous terrain failure?
That's all I have for now. Thanks in advance.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/14 05:39:06
Subject: Slaanesh Chariots and close combat
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
yes on all but im unsure about 8 and 9 since that has never come up for me and i dont have the BRB
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/14 05:43:31
Subject: Slaanesh Chariots and close combat
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
1) All vehicles* can move 12 in the movement phase. *Except Heavy vehicles. 6) it depends on if the next pile in moves can bring models into base contact with the chariot.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/14 05:45:06
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/14 05:46:01
Subject: Slaanesh Chariots and close combat
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
Perth, Western Australia
|
5. & 6. HoW is AT Initiative 10. Not before. It is unlikely that HoW casualties would end combat due to subsequent pile moves.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/14 05:46:10
Subject: Slaanesh Chariots and close combat
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
4plus wrote:5. The hammer of wrath hits always go first regardless of initiative penalties.
Slight clarification - HOW hits at I10, not first. There are a few other things that land at I10 as well.
7. They are allowed to pursue even though they don't count as locked in close combat (you still perform combat resolution)?
They can definitely perform Sweeping Advance. However - and I'm not sure on this - I believe they CAN otherwise get stuck in combat, by virtue of the Herald/Alluress being the one stuck in base contact.
8. A crew stunned result during overwatch fire could prevent the charge if the other chariots could not maintain 4" coherency?
This possibly could - again, I'm not sure, but I think the assault rules mean you must move each model into the combat in turn, and it's only once the move is complete and you're in assault that you can ignore coherency (until combat is over). Worth double-checking.
9. You may abandon an immobilized chariot on the charge.
Yes, as per vehicle squadron rules.
Everything else is a "yes", as SlyasR has already confirmed.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/14 05:46:42
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/14 06:00:54
Subject: Slaanesh Chariots and close combat
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Dra'al Nacht wrote: It is unlikely that HoW casualties would end combat due to subsequent pile moves.
A exalted seeker cavalcade can conceivable wipe a squad out entirely on HoW, ending the combat (16d6 rending attacks anyone?). If there is stuff still alive, pile-ins happen like people said.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Super Ready wrote:
7. They are allowed to pursue even though they don't count as locked in close combat (you still perform combat resolution)?
They can definitely perform Sweeping Advance. However - and I'm not sure on this - I believe they CAN otherwise get stuck in combat, by virtue of the Herald/Alluress being the one stuck in base contact.
BRB pg. 82 Last line of the paragraph titled "Fighting from a chariot." Note that, as a vehicle, the chariot (and it's rider, whilst embarked) cannot be locked in combat.
If the chariot no longer wants to be in the combat, they can simply drive away.
Pg 27 has a section titled "disallowed sweeping advances" There are two situations that can deny you a sweeping advance. First, if you are still locked in combat. Chariots can not be locked in combat, and neither can their riders, so this does not effect them. The second is by having a special rule that states you can not make sweeping advances. An example of this is the slow and purposeful USR on page 42. Chariots possess no rule stating they can not make sweeping advances. As long as the chariot's rider does not, it is also not restricted by this situation.
So yes, unless otherwise stated in the unit's rules a chariot and it's rider may make sweeping advances.
|
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/06/14 06:16:01
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/14 09:30:52
Subject: Slaanesh Chariots and close combat
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
Chariots are Vehicles, so they cannot Sweeping Advance (or Consolidate) as per page 76. Their Riders may be a different story.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/14 13:12:43
Subject: Slaanesh Chariots and close combat
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Chrysis wrote:Chariots are Vehicles, so they cannot Sweeping Advance (or Consolidate) as per page 76. Their Riders may be a different story.
Ah you are right I missed that page.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/14 15:27:47
Subject: Slaanesh Chariots and close combat
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
Chrysis wrote:Chariots are Vehicles, so they cannot Sweeping Advance (or Consolidate) as per page 76. Their Riders may be a different story.
I dont have my book on me (at work...) but walkers are technically vehicles and they can sweeping advance. I am sure it says vehicles other than walkers though right?
|
~Ice~
Da' Burnin Couch 2018 Best Overall
Beef and Wing ITC Major GT Best Overall 2018
2019 ITC #1 Overall Best Admech
LVO 2019 #1 Admech |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/14 15:47:47
Subject: Slaanesh Chariots and close combat
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
pg84 walkers they can sweep if not immobile or stunned. Chariots can not sweep.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/14 15:50:01
Subject: Slaanesh Chariots and close combat
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
So they can not sweep and can not be locked. So they can charge everyturn? Awesome.
|
~Ice~
Da' Burnin Couch 2018 Best Overall
Beef and Wing ITC Major GT Best Overall 2018
2019 ITC #1 Overall Best Admech
LVO 2019 #1 Admech |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/14 15:50:51
Subject: Slaanesh Chariots and close combat
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
only if they can move away, they aren't tanks so it is possible to stop them from moving.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|