Switch Theme:

Can vehicles take cover saves from jink, smoke etc in close combat?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Dakka Veteran




Been out of the game for awhile, so sorry for what's probably a rehash. Back to 40k and it's rules issues, sigh.

Need to find where in the rulebook it states vehicles can't use their cover saves to save penetrating and glancing hits via assault.

Help?
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Page 26, first paragraph.

Now do take note it says wound, which a few people are going to go nuts over, but this does deny you a cover save. The only reason vehicles get a cover save in the first place is because the rules says to treat the cover just like a non-vehicle would treat a wound. If you give vehicles cover saves when non-vehicle models are denied saves, then you have not treated the situation exactly as a non-vehicle model. If you fail to treat the situation exactly like a non-vehicle model and a wound, then you have not met the criteria to take a cover save at all.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/06/15 01:39:20


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran




That's good enough for me, found that treating like a Wound rule you mentioned on page 75 which seems like the magic phrase to make page 18, 26 and 38 make sense for vehicles. Couldn't find that at all last night.

Thanks for the help!

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/15 01:46:05


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Yeah, was a heated debate not to long ago about vehicles and the 'ignore cover' special rule.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran




I can imagine. Problem is it's a by-product of not introducing rules for vehicles and how they interact with game mechanics until page 70.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: