Switch Theme:

Drop Pod Assault  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fully-charged Electropriest






Varying cities in the North

Hi guys, my guess is that you've heard this one before, but I couldn't find any clarification in a quick search:

Getting to grips with the new rules after a period out of the game and I wondered, can you have your entire army starting in reserve, if they're all in drop pods?

The rules say this: 'When deploying their armies, players can choose not to deploy up to half of their units (rounding up) keeping them as Reserves to arrive later. Units that must start the game in reserve are ignored for the purposes of working out how many other units may do so.'

If drop pods don't count towards the half of my army as they have to start in reserve, can my whole army chill in them and BAM BAM BAM rain living hellfire upon the enemy in turn 1 and subsequent turns?

Thanks in advance.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Sledgio wrote:
Hi guys, my guess is that you've heard this one before, but I couldn't find any clarification in a quick search:

Getting to grips with the new rules after a period out of the game and I wondered, can you have your entire army starting in reserve, if they're all in drop pods?

The rules say this: 'When deploying their armies, players can choose not to deploy up to half of their units (rounding up) keeping them as Reserves to arrive later. Units that must start the game in reserve are ignored for the purposes of working out how many other units may do so.'

If drop pods don't count towards the half of my army as they have to start in reserve, can my whole army chill in them and BAM BAM BAM rain living hellfire upon the enemy in turn 1 and subsequent turns?

Thanks in advance.


Perfectly legal. Of course if you go first and your opponent kills everything that just came in, you will lose, as you will have nothing on the table at the end of the game turn.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Yes but you'll find it hard to put your HQ units in there too depending on your army. If you have 1 HQ and every other unit can drop pod you can do it but otherwise it won't work unless you have drop pods for HQ choices in your army.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/15 23:34:07


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 liturgies of blood wrote:
Yes but you'll find it hard to put your HQ units in there too depending on your army. If you have 1 HQ and every other unit can drop pod you can do it but otherwise it won't work unless you have drop pods for HQ choices in your army.


It really is not all that hard to find space for 2 IC's on drop pods (Or in a Stormraven).

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




A lot of HQs can ride along in Drop Pods....
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Yeah sorry my bad, I just assumed full drop pods for some reason. Plus there are DA, SW characters and HQ choices that cannot ride along.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/15 23:53:09


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

nosferatu1001 wrote:
A lot of HQs can ride along in Drop Pods....


IIRC all of the Codex:SM can.

However Codex:BA have some that cannot as they are not IC's or would have jump packs,etc.

Same stuff for SW's

   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

nosferatu1001 wrote:
A lot of HQs can ride along in Drop Pods....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=GPRscxQZs8E#t=20s

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in gb
Fully-charged Electropriest






Varying cities in the North

Ahh great, thanks guys!

So I just need to be careful of getting all intercepted as I'm coming in then? Sounds good to me.
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Yeah, just remember that ICs do NOT count as part of the unit that takes the Drop Pod for the purposes of the half-up reserves rule. Which means that you can only take one of them in a standard list if you want to drop everything.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Jimsolo wrote:
Yeah, just remember that ICs do NOT count as part of the unit that takes the Drop Pod for the purposes of the half-up reserves rule. Which means that you can only take one of them in a standard list if you want to drop everything.


Where's that at?

In the IC section it states its part of the squad for all rules purposes after joining right?

   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

In the reserves section, underneath where it says that units that must start in reserve (or units that begin in a dedicated transport that must start in reserve) do NOT count against your half-up limit.

I've read it half a dozen times hoping I had misread it, but if someone wants to double check me, it's entirely possible I've had an attack of consumptive stupidity.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/16 00:31:32


Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

And per the FAQ, any unit that starts embarked on a transport that must start in reserve (ie Drop Pod) does not count. Is the IC embarked in a transport that must start in reserve? Yes, therefore he does not count.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

When I get my rule book back I will check that and compare it to the FAQ. *shrug* It's not like I'm trying to screw anyone. Heck, it only benefits me if that's the way it works.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

BRB FAQ wrote:Q: Do units that are transported in a vehicle that MUST start in
reserve count towards the number of units that can be placed in
Reserves? For example, must I count the units in a Drop Pod or
Valkyrie towards the 50% of units I can place in Reserves? (p124)
A: No.


So again I ask, if an IC is embarked on a DP, does he have to start in reserves?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

I will be more than happy to play it that way in games with you, brother. Unfortunately, most other people I've played would probably try to accuse me of cheating if I wanted to play it that way, I think. My group were the ones who loudly and angrily pointed the rule in the BRB out to me and whacked me on the nose with a newspaper about putting more than one IC in my drop army. Even if you're right, it's one of those situations where it isn't worth it trying to fight the tide. Something to keep in mind when I travel, though.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/16 02:14:08


Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Jimsolo wrote:
I will be more than happy to play it that way in games with you, brother. Unfortunately, most other people I've played would probably try to accuse me of cheating if I wanted to play it that way, I think. My group were the ones who loudly and angrily pointed the rule in the BRB out to me and whacked me on the nose with a newspaper about putting more than one IC in my drop army. Even if you're right, it's one of those situations where it isn't worth it trying to fight the tide. Something to keep in mind when I travel, though.

Why wouldn't two IC'c be able to go in a Drop pod?

A BA army can have a unit of 5 with 5 IC's in a single Drop Pod.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

I think it was more the way IC's are counted for reserves that caused the problem but that no longer matters thanks to the FAQ.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

JinxDragon wrote:
I think it was more the way IC's are counted for reserves that caused the problem but that no longer matters thanks to the FAQ.


Pretty much. I'm afraid if I try to put two ICs into Reserve with no units on the table, people are going to accuse me of pulling a fast one, but if that's the consensus, then who am I to argue? Thanks for the help!

Deathreaper, there was never an issue with putting two ICs into a Drop Pod. The issue was with putting two ICs into reserve without having any units on the table. Sorry for the confusion.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/16 16:05:05


Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Ohh, yea, if the IC's are in a drop pod no issue.

If the IC's were just in reserve walking on or in termi armor Deep Striking then there is an issue as you need to count them both.

Put one of them in a Pod or a Stormraven, or both and you are good to go.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

Depends on what Codex it is and how TDA is worded in said Codex. "May always start in reserves" and all that.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: