Switch Theme:

Assault vehicles (or open-topped) and assaults  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Crushing Black Templar Crusader Pilot






Let's take a LR with 5 termies as an example. I was under the impression that the LR could move 6" then deploy the termies within 6" of an embarkation point and still launch an assault.

I played someone today who argued that because the transport has already move 6", the passengers count as having moved as well, meaning that if they disembark they now have moved more than 6" and cannot launch an assault.

Anyone care to clarify that?
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

Dude was wrong or just didn't like getting charged by termies

Transport vehicles can move their 6'', then disembark the troops their 6''. They are different units, and the unit inside does not lose it's ability to disembark when the vehicle moves.

Assault vehicles allow you to assault after disembarking also.

Tell him to give pg 78 a read. It even has pictures

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/16 03:42:24


The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in us
Crushing Black Templar Crusader Pilot






I actually had an all-foot DW army. He had a DE army with a bunch of Raiders, I was surprised that he wasn't taking advantage of the open-top vehicles; when I asked him about it is when he brought up the aforementioned issue which surprised me.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

The line you are looking for is found on page 79, paragraph one on the right hand side and is actually bold to make it easier to find.

It gives you direct permission to move on top of the vehicles move. It even uses the words a normal move, highlighting that this move is to be considered a standard move for all rule purposes. If we where to take the argument that the vehicle movement has to be included in the disembarking units movement, then you would be denied disembarking from any unit that has moved that turn. The rule is clear on this regard, the disembarking unit is only considered to have moved six inches after it has disembarked, assuming it moves to the limit of the disembarking 'bubble.'

So no, your opponent was incorrect and shot himself in the foot because of it... which is surprising, as assaulting from vehicles is a backbone of Dark Eldar tactics.

Also I would like you to be aware there is no limit on how far you can move before you assault. While certain situations do outright deny you the ability to assault, the distance the unit has moved is not one of them. Jump units highlight this the best as they designed to move 12 inches and assault, with some not even using shooting weapons because of this fact. So even if we where not told to treat it as a normal move for all rule purposes, the fact they moved 12 inches still wouldn't deny them the ability to charge.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/16 04:02:15


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: