Switch Theme:

Flyers and turning before movement?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





I am fairly new to the war hammer scene and I stopped by my local shops tournament to learn a bit more. As I was playing with another guy he mentioned that with my heldrake whilst zooming if pivots has to pivot a full 90 degrees (no more no less) before its movement. After returning home and digging back into the rulebook I noticed that under flyers that it states in the core book page 80 under zooming flyers that

"To represent it's limited maneuverability, a zooming flyer can only make a single pivot on the spot of up to 90 degrees before it moves."

Now to me that is clear and cut on what it means. The way I read it is that my held rake may turn less than 90 degrees before movement as the key part in that sentence is UP to 90 degrees. To me that means I can turn him 35 degrees or even 60 degrees as long as I do not go over 90 degrees.


All makes more sense as an individual flying can make slight corrections but if he makes too big of a turn (over 90 degrees) then he will hit the limitations of his craft and crash (in real life)

I hope this all makes sense on what I am attempting to portray here and I am just looking for clarification on if I am able to pivot less than 90 degrees before the turn or if I must make a complete 90 degrees if I wish to pivot at all as the rulebook does state Up to 90 degrees?
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Up to 90 degrees is 0 to 90 degrees. If your opponent continues to insist next time he tries to draw LOS with a hull-mounted weapon remind him that it must turn 45 degrees as the rules say it can rotate up to 45 degrees.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






Yeah, your opponent is either illiterate or cheating. "Up to 90*" very clearly means anywhere in a range between 0-90*, there's no ambiguity here at all.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





As I thought. I just wanted to make sure that I did not miss a FAQ or errata that said otherwise that I may have missed or read over. Thanks for the quick replies.
   
Made in sg
Brainy Zoanthrope





Yeah this is indeed very clear cut. Up to 90 degrees.
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior




Your problem seems to be not that you were playing with someone who was cheating, but you were both playing without a rulebook to hand. You should never have a game of 40k with somebody that you don't know without having a rulebook handy. Lesson learned!
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Yes there's a difference to reading and skimming the rules. He skimmed you read, next time stick to your laurels and show him then ram it down his throat. Err I mean move it where you was going to.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: