Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/17 11:23:31
Subject: Flat out and disembarking
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
Can you flat-out a transport vehicle in the same turn that a squad disembarks from it?
Basically could I run up a Rhino 6", disembark my marines, rapid-fire the closest unit, then flat-out the Rhino another 6" to cover them?
I'm thinking no, as the Rulebook states, "If the vehicle had already moved before the unit disembarked, the vehicle cannot move further (including pivoting on the spot) that turn." Pg 79, 2nd paragraph, 2nd line.
Only reason I ask is to make sure I can't do it, as I've seen a couple of other posters suggest it as a tactic, without anyone contradicting them.
|
"There's too much blood in my caffeine system!!"
Students around the world |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/17 11:49:22
Subject: Flat out and disembarking
|
 |
Servoarm Flailing Magos
|
Well... your rulebook citation clearly states that you can't.
It's incredibly specific in talking about the exact same situation you are.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/17 11:51:48
Subject: Flat out and disembarking
|
 |
Kelne
|
*Enjoys posting absolutely not related stuff*
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/06/17 17:12:17
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/17 13:41:18
Subject: Flat out and disembarking
|
 |
World-Weary Pathfinder
|
B0B MaRlEy wrote:It's specified in the FAQ, in the questions part, page 7
"Q: If a Transport vehicle has a unit embarked upon it, and that
unit makes a shooting attack, can the vehicle then move Flat Out in
the same Shooting phase? (p78)
A: No."
That's not what hes asking though, that is talking about firing from on a vehicle and turbo-boosting said vehicle, not disembarking the unit and turbo the vehicle.
Sandyman11 wrote: Only reason I ask is to make sure I can't do it, as I've seen a couple of other posters suggest it as a tactic, without anyone contradicting them.
Maybe because if a vehicle has not moved at all before they disembark, then it is allowed to move unrestricted (including Turboboosting).
|
Ulthwé Eldar 2.5k points and growing! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/17 15:18:28
Subject: Flat out and disembarking
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
Ah, thank you Kaiser, that's probably what they were getting at. Still a viable tactic I reckon, One that shall be put to good use
|
"There's too much blood in my caffeine system!!"
Students around the world |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/17 15:23:00
Subject: Flat out and disembarking
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
If the vehicle has moved before the unit disembarks, it can't move any further that turn. That would include Flat out. So no move, disembark, Flat out.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/17 15:23:13
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/17 18:27:11
Subject: Flat out and disembarking
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
If the unit disembarks before the vehicle moves then the vehicle can move normally. (P.79) The restrictions on Flat out are that a tank can not flat out after a tank shock (P.72), and can not flat out if it had moved then a unit disembarks (P.79) So that tactic is valid only if the unit disembarks first, then the vehicle moves.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/17 18:28:25
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|