| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 16:48:06
Subject: Random rules from a rusty returning player
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
So just played WFB 8th for the first time in a pretty significant while and a couple of rules questions came up:
I know a character can move anywhere they want inside the front rank of the unit during the movement phase. Can they move to the edge of the unit and then charge?
Also, can you charge and hit both units in this scenario? Unit (A) is in front of, and to the left of Unit (B), Enemy Unit (E) charges Unit (A) in the flank. Are they also in contact with Unit B? The way the units were sitting the enemy unit (Ogres) could have chose to be slide up so that they were touching both units, or slide down so that they were only touching Unit (A) and still have contacted Unit A with max # of models possible.
_____BBBBB
_____BBBBB
AAAAA_______EEE
AAAAA_______EEE
AAAAA_______EEE
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 22:31:41
Subject: Random rules from a rusty returning player
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, as they only move in remaining moves. To charge they have to declare in Declare Charges, so have to have a legal target at this point
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 23:58:03
Subject: Random rules from a rusty returning player
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If B is distant from A there's no way E can touch them. It's said you can use your free wheel to avoid "intervening units." If B and A are touching, if you don't declare a charge on A, it is simply an intervening unit you have to avoid. So you'd wheel so that you're a bazillimeter away from B. But you'd still have every unit touching anyway. If the wheel was impossible to get 100% of units touching, it would still be legal because you're not charging B, you're avoiding it like it was any other obstacle.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/22 00:27:10
Subject: Random rules from a rusty returning player
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight
Edinburgh, Scotland
|
Thought you would still have to be 1" away from B though? And that you can only charge both if it is the only way of completing the charge. In this case, you couldn't possibly charge both, as your front rank has to contact the unit you are charging and they aren't beside each other in the front rank.
So definitely can only charge one, believe that you would finish 1" away from other, but less sure on the second part.
On the charging q, the character has to have a legal charge (front arc, los etc), but the BRB isn't explicit about whether the charge is measured from the character's present position or from the unit. Given that the character can leave from anywhere, assuming that he had a legal charge, where is it measured from?
|
Nite |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/22 01:18:26
Subject: Random rules from a rusty returning player
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You can be within 1" when you charge. 1" is "just for clarity." The BRB even says to nudge them apart. Again, the point is to get as many models in combat as possible, not preserve the 1" which is just to make things less messy. Both armies, upon clashing into each other, aren't going to go, "man, I wish I could fight those dirty scum, but I wouldn't want to walk near my comrades."
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|