Switch Theme:

Sweep Attack question?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Houston, Texas

The rules on sweep attack do not make it clear if its only enemy models or all models (at least in the book I have for reference, I don't have the rule book)
f I have friendly models bunched up and enemies surrounding them. Say for example a termi with sweep attack is in contact with 5 models technically but 3 of those are friendly. Should he get the five attacks?
Yeah it seems stupid but with a weapon like a scythe he should be hitting 2-3 orks w/ every slash/attack realistically, so I'm trying to compensate for that.

A sweep attack is where a model gives up all of its attacks to gain a number of attacks equal to the number of models in base contact.
So if 5 models were in base contact the model would have 5 attacks.
To my knowledge this is almost a universal definition.

I was referring to Deathshroud terminators from the new Horus Heresy:Betrayal book

Sorry it does refer to as only being enemy models.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/06/24 03:14:42


Finally found my quote from a gym buddy born and raised in South Korea:
"It is the soldier, not the reporter who has given us the freedom of the press.
"It is the soldier, not the poet, who has given us the freedom of speech.
"It is the soldier, not the campus organizer, who gives us the freedom to demonstrate.
"It is the soldier who salutes the flag, who serves beneath the flag, and whose coffin is draped by the flag, who allows the protester to burn the flag." 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Are you talking about sweeping advances? I cannot find any rule for sweeping attacks or a sweeping special ability.

Sweeping advances occur after the assault phase if the loosing side fails a morale check both units roll d6 plus Init. If the loosing side roles lower they are removed as casualties. This is explained fully on pg 26 and 27.

Eh, don't have the book but it appears that Chaos or Chaos marine have something with a sweep attack. Sorry, don't have that book. But maybe this

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/414807.page

will help answer you question.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/24 02:38:54


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

I have to admit I am confused too...

There is something known as a sweep attack, it can be found on certain units in a handful of codex's. As it isn't a universal special rule, not even found in the base rule book, each entry describes what it means to that particular unit. The majority of them appear to be akin to a 'move over an enemy unit, deal X number of hits' sort of things. They are nothing like the situation being put forth and that leaves me more in the dark as to what the opening post could even be in relation to.

Even worse, in the context put forth here, is that Terminator units do not have sweep attacks from what I know. I don't know every marine codex, so maybe there is one out there which grants them some sort of sweep attack, but I would have no clue how that would work. The general terminators do not even gain sweeping advances, they are simply too 'slow,' so it makes even less sense for them to have a special rule that allows them to overtake and destroy a unit during any phase.

Then there is the fact the typical gear for terminators are power fists or power weapons. They are not armed at all with scythes, and I don't think such a weapon even exists in sixth edition. Again, I am not familiar with every codex so this could be a very precise situation with terminators from one such codex. It just leaves me feeling as if the situation put forth is either very hypothetical, or I am over looking something vital when it comes to terminators that I really should know about.

That is why I am hoping someone can shed some light onto what the opening post is talking about, as I feel quite ignorant right now.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/24 02:46:38


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

JinxDragon wrote:
I have to admit I am confused too...

There is something known as a sweep attack, it can be found on certain units in a handful of codex's. As it isn't a universal special rule, not even found in the base rule book, each entry describes what it means to that particular unit. The majority of them appear to be akin to a 'move over an enemy unit, deal X number of hits' sort of things. They are nothing like the situation being put forth and that leaves me more in the dark as to what the opening post could even be in relation to.

Even worse, in the context put forth here, is that Terminator units do not have sweep attacks from what I know. I don't know every marine codex, so maybe there is one out there which grants them some sort of sweep attack, but I would have no clue how that would work. The general terminators do not even gain sweeping advances, they are simply too 'slow,' so it makes even less sense for them to have a special rule that allows them to overtake and destroy a unit during any phase.

Then there is the fact the typical gear for terminators are power fists or power weapons. They are not armed at all with scythes, and I don't think such a weapon even exists in sixth edition. Again, I am not familiar with every codex so this could be a very precise situation with terminators from one such codex. It just leaves me feeling as if the situation put forth is either very hypothetical, or I am over looking something vital when it comes to terminators that I really should know about.

That is why I am hoping someone can shed some light onto what the opening post is talking about, as I feel quite ignorant right now.


"Sweep Attack" is in the main rulebook. It's a special rule of Chariots (and only Chariots) so it's found in the Chariot section. Also completely irrelevant to what the OP is asking about.

At a guess, he's referring to a special rule from the Horus Heresy range. Probably something on Deathshroud Terminators. That's the only place I can think of that might have the combination of Special Rule + Terminator + Scythe. But I don't have any of the Horus Heresy books so can't confirm.

I certainly remember seeing a rule something like the one the OP is talking about. I just can't remember where.

Edit: OP edited while I was posting. Gratifying to be right about the Deathshroud, but unfortunately I can't help.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/24 03:00:27


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Ah, thanks for the clarifying edit as it now makes a little more sense to the situation. I, unfortunately, can not give you any advise on this matter as my knowledge on the forge world expansion books is very much lacking. I do not even have access to the books in question so I can not even carry out needed research in order to form an answer. This is something I should fix, as the forge world expansion does have quite a lot of interesting things and more then the occasional question about it occurs on this site.

Still, with all the minds we have here, someone will be able to give you the right answer.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/24 03:13:30


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Freaky Flayed One




Wingate, Co Durham, UK

Page 235 of the Betrayal book references the Deathshroud Power Scythe and does state under the Sweep Attack rule it is enemy models in base contact only that you can gain attacks from.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/24 20:40:12


Somewhere close to 25'000pts
I lost count a few years back. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: