Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/04 23:56:19
Subject: Objective cover saves
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
So me and my friend were playing an objective game the other night..
We were rolling for the mysterious objectives as per the BRB
1 of the objectives made cover saves +1 to cover.. 6 in the open
Well he had a unit that was within 3" of the objective...
And I also had a unit that was within 3" of the objective...
Do we each still benefit from a 6 cover save from the shooting attacks?
Or do we cancel each other out?
|
Necrons
Tau |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/04 23:57:37
Subject: Objective cover saves
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
The controlling unit gains the benefits. Assuming both units were denial, neither unit would benefit.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/05 00:07:52
Subject: Objective cover saves
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
So then,, that would take away the cover save from all units firing at the unit?
I ask because the case was this...
objective in the open
enemy had a unit within 3"
in my movement phase I moved 1 unit within the 3" as well
and my other unit moved to within about 12"
So how we solved this was this...
My unit that was also benefitting from the objective took away the cover from his unit... so there was no cover from my units shooting attack...
but we allowed him to take the cover save from my unit that was not near the objective...
should he have lost it altogether?
|
Necrons
Tau |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/05 00:24:03
Subject: Objective cover saves
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Only the controlling unit can benefit from the objectives (any unit can get hit by the booby trap).
In order to control an objective the unit must be scoring, with no denial units within 3".
Assuming the first unit you moved was a denial unit, the unit being shot at no longer controlled the objective and thus would not benefit.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/05 00:33:34
Subject: Objective cover saves
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
Thanks..
yes the first unit that moved was a denying unit..
|
Necrons
Tau |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/05 15:38:00
Subject: Objective cover saves
|
 |
Servoarm Flailing Magos
|
The only situation where you could potentially both be holding an objective is in something like big guns don't tire. If you both have a Heavy Support vehicle choice within 3 inches, both are capturing and none of them are denial.
It begs the question "Doesn't controlling it mean that one is in control and the other isn't?"
Yeah. Well. How do you determine which? I would say the first to get there, but it isn't an eventuality that GW has foreseen, and so isn't covered by the rules.
(unless I missed something, which is more than probable.)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/05 15:38:38
|
|
 |
 |
|