Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/06 13:20:04
Subject: Drop Pod Assaut - space wolves
|
 |
Ambitious Space Wolves Initiate
|
Hi everyone,
I have a quick question. My army consists of 5 units in 5 drop pods (included are 2 HQs) and a landspeeder.
According to the 6th ed reserve mission rules, am I allowed to keep the 5 drop pods units in reserve and only set up the lone land speeder during deployment?
Thanks
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/06 13:40:19
Subject: Drop Pod Assaut - space wolves
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
as i understand it, the drop pod rules turn the unit who purchased it into a unit not considered by the reserve rules. they don't have the option of deploying on table so therefore are exempt. That doesn't include the HQ's or Speeder tho. so you'd be taking half of those units. ie. speeder + 1HQ... I haven't played my drop wolves in a while. but at last look that's how it seemed to me
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/06 13:52:40
Subject: Drop Pod Assaut - space wolves
|
 |
Ambitious Space Wolves Initiate
|
When deploying their armies, the player can choose not to deploy up to half of their units (rounding up).
So the units not excluded by reserves are the 2 HQ and the speeder. Rounding up, I can choose 2 units to be kept in reserve. So I choose the 2 HQ to be kept in reserve together with the 5 pods and only deploy the speeder.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/07 11:47:12
Subject: Drop Pod Assaut - space wolves
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
|
If the HQ units are in the drop pods, they don't count towards the number of units held in reserve IIRC. The IC is for all intents and purposes a member of the unit that must be held in reserve.
So my interpretation is that you only have to deploy the speeder. However, I'm sure if you looked in the rule book it'd explain it. Or even ask for this thread to be moved to YMDC since that's where rules questions go...
|
Star Trek taught me so much. Like, how you should accept people, whether they be black, white, Klingon or even female...
FAQs |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/07 14:12:23
Subject: Drop Pod Assaut - space wolves
|
 |
Sergeant First Class
|
You wouldn't need to reserve the speeder if that were the case, as half of 1 rounded up is 1. It being your only unit not automatically in reserve, it can be placed in reserve.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/07 18:15:50
Subject: Drop Pod Assaut - space wolves
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Michi wrote:When deploying their armies, the player can choose not to deploy up to half of their units (rounding up).
So the units not excluded by reserves are the 2 HQ and the speeder. Rounding up, I can choose 2 units to be kept in reserve. So I choose the 2 HQ to be kept in reserve together with the 5 pods and only deploy the speeder.
You dont even need to do tha t- according to the latest FAQ ANY unit inside a vehicle that must deepstrike do not count towards it. So you have a single unit (the LS) which is not forced to be in reserves, so it can also starti in reserves
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/08 22:33:42
Subject: Drop Pod Assaut - space wolves
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
I stand myself corrected.
As such.
Q: Do units that are transported in a vehicle that MUST start in reserve count towards the number of units that can be placed in Reserves? For example, must I count the units in a Drop Pod or Valkyrie towards the 50% of units I can place in Reserves? (p124)
A: No.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/08 22:40:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/08 22:39:52
Subject: Drop Pod Assaut - space wolves
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Awfeel wrote:This came up recently and this is how the entirety of the forum broke it down.
Transports do not HAVE TO be filled with the troops that you have taken them for and during deployment is when you declare that you are deploying them inside the mandatory reserved Drop Pod.
The unit inside, themselves, count as a deployable unit and as such you should count them in the "half" as they do not HAVE TO be deployed in the drop pods.
This is incorrect. The Deep Strike rules specifically exempt any unit embarked on a vehicle that must Deep Strike from counting against the limit of units that need to start in reserves.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/10 18:57:47
Subject: Drop Pod Assaut - space wolves
|
 |
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader
Pacific NW
|
Michi wrote:My army consists of 5 units in 5 drop pods (included are 2 HQs) and a landspeeder.
According to the 6th ed reserve mission rules, am I allowed to keep the 5 drop pods units in reserve and only set up the lone land speeder during deployment?
You can Reserve everything actually. Models in Drop Pods get ignored, so your HQs and the units taking the Pods don't count against you. So you have 1 model that counts. Half of 1 rounding up is 1 so you can reserve 1 unit.
Just make sure that when your 3 Drop Pods come in that you don't lose the Pods and their contents to the enemy in the first turn, otherwise you'll lose!
|
|
|
 |
 |
|